14-man Lions capitulate as Sharks run riot

Golden Lions v Sharks (Gallo Images)
Golden Lions v Sharks (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - The Sharks surged to the top of the Currie Cup standings after claiming a come-from-behind win over the Golden Lions at Ellis Park on Saturday night.

The Sharks won 47-31, having trailed 24-5 at half-time.

The Lions had led 31-5 early in the second half but a red card to hooker Robbie Coetzee proved a killer blow for the home side.

Coetzee had kicked a Sharks player in the face just after the Durbanites scored a try and received his marching orders from referee Egon Seconds.

The scoreline was 31-12 in favour of the Lions when Coetzee left the field and after that there was only one team on the park.

This is the second red card for foul play that Coetzee has received this season, having been sent off in a Super Rugby game against the Southern Kings in May.

The bonus-point win saw the Sharks move past the Free State Cheetahs to the top of the log, while the Lions are second from bottom.

Sharks flank Jacques Vermeulen, who scored a brace of tries, was named man-of-the-match.

In next weekend’s action, the Lions travel to Cape Town to face Western Province (Friday, August 18), while the Sharks have a bye.


Golden Lions

Tries: Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Jacques Nel, Anthony Volmink, Marco Jansen van Vuuren, Fabian Booysen
Conversions: Jaco van der Walt (3)


Tries: Tera Mtembu, Jacques Vermeulen (2), penalty try, Louis Schreuder, John-Hubert Meyer, Keegan Daniel
Conversions: Garth April (5)

Note: A penalty try is worth seven points


Golden Lions

15 Sylvian Mahuza, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 Jacques Nel, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Antony Volmink, 10 Jaco van der Walt, 9 Dillon Smit, 8 Ryan Kankowski (captain), 7 Fabian Booysen, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Marvin Orie, 4. Robert Kruger, 3 Johannes Jonker, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Michael Willemse, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Bobby de Wee, 19 Hacjivah Dayimani, 20 Marco Janse van Vuuren, 21 Siya Masuku, 22 Aphiwe Dyantyi


15 Garth April, 14 Odwa Ndungane, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Marius Louw, 11 Sibusiso Nkosi, 10 Benhard Janse van Rensburg, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Lubabalo Mtembu, 7 Jacques Vermeulen, 6 Keegan Daniel, 5 Ruan Botha (captain), 4 Tyler Paul, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Thomas du Toit.                    

Substitutes: 16 Armand van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 Jean Droste, 20 Wian Vosloo, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Inny-Christian Radebe

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7590 votes
11% - 1925 votes
19% - 3471 votes
3% - 449 votes
1% - 161 votes
2% - 430 votes
5% - 888 votes
8% - 1500 votes
3% - 598 votes
Water sports
1% - 163 votes
American sports
1% - 210 votes
3% - 556 votes