Currie Cup

Bulls too good for Pumas in Currie Cup opener

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Embrose Papier (Gallo Images)
Embrose Papier (Gallo Images)
Dirk Kotze/Gallo Images

The Bulls have kicked off their Currie Cup campaign in emphatic style as they defeated the Pumas with a bonus-point at Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit on Friday evening.

As it happened: Pumas v Bulls

The visitors scored four tries to one from the home team to seal a 33-19 victory.

The Bulls were in the ascendancy early and scrumhalf Embrose Papier scored the first try of the game after 12 minutes when he broke away from a scrum and scored in the right-hand corner.

Bulls flyhalf Chris Smith missed the conversion but succeeded with two penalties as the visitors went into a 11-0 lead after 25 minutes.

The Pumas got onto the scoreboard in the final minute of the first half with Thinus de Beer adding three points with a penalty.

De Beer reduced the deficit to six points early after the halftime interval but Smith added another three points soon after to give the Bulls a 14-6 lead.

The visitors then put some distance on the scoreboard between the sides as lock forward Ruan Nortje scored in the 55th minute with Smith adding the extras as the Bulls took a 21-9 lead.

De Beer kept the Pumas in the game as he struck two penalties in quick succession but just as the hosts had sniff the Bulls pulled away again with a try.

Hooker Johan Grobbelaar expertly broke away from powerful rolling maul and dotted down in the right-hand corner, Smith was unsuccessful with the conversion but the Bulls held a 26-12 lead with 10 minutes remaining.

The Pumas never gave up the fight and their efforts were rewarded in the 76th minute when they were awarded a penalty try as Bulls illegally stopped a maul close to the try-line.

The Bulls however sealed the win the final minute when replacement forward WJ Steenkamp powered his over the line with Smith adding the conversion to make the score 33-19.



Try: Penalty try

Penalties: Tinus de Beer (4)


Tries: Embrose Papier, Ruan Nortje, Johan Grobbelaar, WJ Steenkamp

Conversion: Chris Smith

Penalty: Smith (3)



15 Devon Williams, 14 Tapiwa Mafura, 13 Sebastian de Klerk, 12 Robbie Petzer, 11 Lundi Msenge, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Giovan Snyman, 8 Willie Engelbrecht (captain), 7 Khwezi Mafu, 6 Daniel Maartens, 5 Darrien Landsberg, 4 Shane Kirkwood, 3 Ig Prinsloo, 2 Eduan Swart, 1 Corne Fourie

Substitutes: 16 Llewellyn Classen, 17 Ruan Kramer, 18 Simon Raw, 19 Malembe Mpofu, 20 Phumzile Maqondwana, 21 Lucky Dlepu, 22 Eddie Fouche, 23 Alwayno Visagie


15 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 14 Madosh Tambwe, 13 David Kriel, 12 Cornal Hendricks (captain), 11 Richard Kriel, 10 Chris Smith, 9 Embrose Papier, 8 Arno Botha, 7 Elrigh Louw, 6 Jaco Labuschagne, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Jacques van Rooyen, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Gerhard Steenekamp

Substitutes: 16 Jan-Hendrik Wessels, 17 Lizo Gqoboka, 18 Robert Hunt, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 WJ Steenkamp, 21 Zak Burger, 22 Juan Mostert, 23 Stedman Gans

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Wed 19 Jan 22 15:30 PM (SAST)
Sigma Lions
New Nation Pumas
Emirates Airlines Park
Wed 19 Jan 22 17:45 PM (SAST)
Cell C Sharks
Tafel Lager Griquas
Hollywoodbets Kings Park
Wed 19 Jan 22 20:00 PM (SAST)
DHL Western Province
Vodacom Bulls
DHL Stadium
Sat 15 Jan 22
DHL Western Province 48
Sigma Lions 36
Sat 15 Jan 22
Toyota Cheetahs 30
Tafel Lager Griquas 20
Fri 14 Jan 22
New Nation Pumas 19
Vodacom Bulls 33
1. Vodacom Bulls
2. DHL Western Province
3. Toyota Cheetahs
4. Sigma Lions