Currie Cup

Griquas manhandle Sharks in stunning Kings Park win

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Sibabalo Qoma. (Darren Stewart/Gallo Images)
Sibabalo Qoma. (Darren Stewart/Gallo Images)

Griquas showed incredible force and defensive might to beat the Sharks 37-27 in an engrossing Currie Cup tie at Kings Park.

In a superb team effort, the men from Griquas showed great resolve in the second half where they were down to twelve men after sustaining two yellow cards.

However, they defended their line well enough to stave off waves of Sharks attacks and come away with a bonus-point victory away from home.

AS IT HAPPENED | Griquas 27-37 Sharks

Although both sides scored four tries each, the Sharks struggled to structure their attack coherently and missed plenty conversions at goal while Griquas flyhalf George Whitehead netted all four of his team's conversions plus three penalties.

Griquas also exercised their physical might at scrum time where their front-rowers Mox Mxoli and Janu Botha gave Ntuthuko Mchunu and Lourens Adriaanse a torrid time.

Griquas got off to the perfect start in the contest when wing Daniel Kasende ran a great angle to slice through the home side's defence and score under posts, with flyhalf George Whitehead slotting the simple conversion.

The hosts got on the scoreboard in the fifth minute when flyhalf Curwin Bosch slotted a penalty.

The Sharks then had a sustained attacking period and forced the visitors into a number of infringements.

Referee Aimee Barrett-Theron finally had enough of the illegal play, and Griquas found themselves with two players in the sin bin, scrumhalf Stefan Ungerer and prop Janu Botha.

The visitors, though, showed their mettle and kept the hosts scoreless with two players less on the pitch with some superb defence.

Just as Griquas had one of their players return from the sin bin, the Sharks finally breached the defence as flanker Mpilo Gumede went in for a try in the 31st minute, even though Bosch missed the conversion as the home team took a one-point lead.

The Sharks were dealt a blow in the 34th minute when scrumhalf Sanele Nohamba was shown a yellow card for a dangerous tackle.

The Griquas took full advantage and scored two tries, courtesy of Janco Uys and Ederies Arendse, both converted by Whitehead as they took a 21-8 lead into the halftime break.

The visitors then extended that lead to 28-8 soon after the restart as flanker Sibabalo Qoma scored and Whitehead kept up his perfect day with the boot.

The visitors were then reduced to 12 men in the middle of the second half as a number of infringements saw lock Adre Smith, Qoma and reserve hooker HJ Luus sent to the sin bin.

The Sharks reduced the deficit on the scoreboard with a try by lock Reniel Hugo in the 66th minute, but, remarkably, the visitors received a penalty from the kickoff with their 12 men.

Sharks right-wing Yaw Penxe went in for a try that Boch converted, however, Whitehead hit back with a match-sealing penalty in the 75th minute.

As time was running out for the hosts to launch a comeback, replacement forward Thembelani Bholi scored a consolation try in the 78th minute,  with Bosch converting to make the final score 37-27.

Griquas take five points from the contest while the Sharks get one for scoring four tries.

Sharks - 27

Tries: Mpilo Gumede, Reniel Hugo, Yaw Penxe, Thembelani Bholi 

Conversions Curwin Bosch (2) 

Penalty: Curwin Bosch 

Yellow card: Sanele Nohamba

Griquas - 37

Tries: Daniel Kasende, Janco Uys, Ederies Arendse, Sibabalo Qoma 

Conversions: George Whitehead (4) 

Penalties: George Whitehead (3) 

Yellow cards: Janu Botha, Stefan Ungerer, Adre Smith, Sibabalo Qoma

Sharks: 15 Anthony Volmink, 14 Yaw Penxe, 13 Werner Kok, 12 Murray Koster, 11 Thaakir Abrahams, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Phepsi Buthelezi (captain), 7 Mpilo Gumede, 6 James Venter, 5 Reniel Hugo, 4 Le Roux Roets, 3 Lourens Adriaanse, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Ntuthuko Mchunu.

16 Dan Jooste, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Wiehahn Herbst, 19 Thembelani Bholi, 20 Henco Venter, 21 Jaden Hendrikse, 22 Lionel Cronje 23 Jeremy Ward

Griquas: 15 Ashlon Davids, 14 Daniel Kasende, 13 Jay-Cee Nel, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Eduan Keyter, 10 George Whitehead, 9 Stefan Ungerer, 8 Ruan Steenkamp (captain), 7 Sibabalo Qoma, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Stefan Willemse, 4 Adre Smith, 3 Janu Botha, 2 Janco Uys, 1 Mox Mxoli.

 16 HJ Luus, 17 Andrew Kuhn, 18 Andries Schutte, 19 Cameron Lindsay, 20 Hanru Sirgel, 21 Raegan Oranje, 22 Tinus de Beer, 23 Ederies Arendse, 24 Tijde Visser, 25 Luyolo Dapula, 26 Theo Boshoff

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24