Lions name Currie Cup squad

Johan Ackermann (Gallo Images)
Johan Ackermann (Gallo Images)

Johannesburg - Lions coach Johan Ackermann has named his Currie Cup Premier Division squad for the 2016 season.

The defending champions open their campaign against the Pumas at Ellis Park on Saturday (15:00 kick-off).

Ackermann is yet to name his captain for the Currie Cup Premier Division, as both Warren Whiteley and Jaco Kriel are away with the Springboks.

The coach will name his starting team for the Pumas clash on Thursday.

Golden Lions 2016 Currie Cup squad:

Forwards: Dylan Smith, Corne Fourie, Jacques van Rooyen, Pieter Scholtz, Justin Ackerman, Armand van der Merwe, Ramone Samuels, Robbie Coetzee, MB Lusaseni, Lourens Erasmus,, Bobby de Wee, JP du Preez, Cyle Brink, Steph de Wit, Ruaan Lerm, Fabian Booysen, Victor Sekekete, Kwagga Smith, Ruan Ackermann, Andries Ferreira

Backs: Ross Cronje, Dillon Smit, Marco Janse van Vuren, Marnitz Boshoff, Jaco van der Walt, Ashlon Davids, Courtnall Skosan, Anthony Volmink, Selom Gavor, Koch Marx, Sylvian Mahuza, Andries Coetzee, JW Bell, Rohan Janse van Rensburg, Howard Mnisi, Stokkies Hanekom, Jacques Nel

Injured but might still play Currie Cup:

Jano Venter

Injured and will miss Currie Cup:

Ruan Dreyer, Robert Kruger, Harold Vorster 

Springboks and Japan:

Warwick Tecklenburg, Warren Whiteley, Faf de Klerk, Ruan Combrinck, Malcolm Marx, Julian Redelinghuys, Lionel Mapoe, Elton Jantjies, Franco Mostert, Jaco Kriel

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3454 votes
11% - 820 votes
18% - 1335 votes
2% - 145 votes
1% - 61 votes
2% - 158 votes
5% - 380 votes
7% - 547 votes
3% - 232 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 58 votes
3% - 194 votes