Currie Cup

Potgieter on the wing for Bulls, Van Rooyen back after Newlands red card

Marnus Potgieter. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)
Marnus Potgieter. (Photo by Lee Warren/Gallo Images)

Marnus Potgieter will earn his first start of the Currie Cup on the right wing when the Bulls take on the Sharks in Durban on Saturday.

Bulls director of rugby, Jake White, has made two positional changes to the backline with David Kriel and Kurt-Lee Arendse reverting back to fullback and left wing respectively. 

In the first of two changes to the forward pack, Ruan Nortje returns at lock with Sintu Manjezi providing cover from the bench. The second sees Jacques van Rooyen getting back into the No 1 jumper after serving his one-week ban for a red card against Western Province. 

Schalk Erasmus makes a welcomed return as the replacement hooker and will earn his Bulls debut in the Carling Currie Cup should he take the field.

Young Mornay Smith is also expected to earn his first cap of the season as front row cover. The final change amongst the replacements is Marco Jansen van Vuren as the utility back option. 

"The Sharks have been the inform team from earlier this year and will be looking to get one over us. Durban is never an easy place to play and coupled with the humidity our job becomes that much harder.

"However, we are confident in our style of play and we know exactly what we need to do come Saturday," said White.

Saturday's clash at Kings Park kicks off at 19:00.



15 Manie Libbok, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am (captain), 12 Marius Louw, 11 Yaw Penxe, 10 Curwin Bosch, 9 Sanele Nohamba, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Henco Venter, 6 Dylan Richardson, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Daniel Jooste, 1 Ox Nche

Substitutes: 16 Kerron van Vuuren, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Michael Kumbirai, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Thembelani Bholi, 21 Phepsi Buthelezi, 22 Jaden Hendrikse, 23 Jeremy Ward


15 David Kriel, 14 Marnus Potgieter, 13 Stedman Gans, 12 Cornal Hendricks, 11 Kurt-Lee Arendse, 10 Morne Steyn, 9 Ivan van Zyl, 8 Duane Vermeulen (captain), 7 Arno Botha, 6 Marco van Staden, 5 Ruan Nortje, 4 Walt Steenkamp, 3 Trevor Nyakane, 2 Johan Grobbelaar, 1 Jacques van Rooyen 

Substitutes: 16 Schalk Erasmus, 17 Gerhard Steenekamp, 18 Mornay Smith, 19 Sintu Manjezi, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Embrose Papier, 22 Chris Smith, 23 Marco Jansen van Vuren

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24