Dweba one of four SA players in PRO14 Dream Team

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Joseph Dweba (Gallo Images)
Joseph Dweba (Gallo Images)

Former Cheetahs hooker Joseph Dweba is the only South African-based player to be voted into the PRO14 Dream Team for the 2019/20 season.

Dweba, who had a sensational season for the Cheetahs, but has since left for French club Bordeaux-Begles, was a popular vote at hooker in the side.

The tournament’s top try-scorer Rhyno Smith, did not make the cut despite scoring 10 times for the Cheetahs.

Three other South Africans, who all play for Edinburgh and are on the verge of qualifying for Scotland, made the team as the Scottish side, who lost out in the semi-finals, had the most representatives with six.

Former Bulls prop Pierre Schoeman, wing-sensation Duhan van der Merwe and utility back Jaco van der Walt all made the team after enjoying an inspired run of form with the Scottish club.

The top players in each position are annually  selected by media, former players and coaches.

Players needed to appear a minimum of 8 appearances during the current campaign.

In total, seven teams are represented in the Dream Team selection with Edinburgh leading the way with six selections, finalists Leinster have three, their opponents Ulster have two players in the team with Dragons, Toyota Cheetahs, Benetton Rugby and Cardiff Blues all earning one spot each.

PRO14 Dream Team

15 Blair Kinghorn (Edinburgh Rugby), 14 Monty Ioane (Benetton Rugby), 13 Rey Lee-Lo (Cardiff Blues), 12 Stuart McCloskey (Ulster), 11 Duhan van der Merwe (Edinburgh), 10 Jaco van der Walt (Edinburgh), 9 John Cooney (Ulster), 8 Bill Mata (Edinburgh), 7 Will Connors (Leinster), 6 Max Deegan (Leinster), 5 Grant Gilchrist (Edinburgh), 4 Scott Fardy (Leinster), 3 Leon Brown (Dragons), 2 Joseph Dweba (Cheetahs), 1 Pierre Schoeman (Edinburgh)

- PRO14 media

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
India 325/10 & 69/0
New Zealand 62/10
Voting Booth
What are your views on the World Rugby men's Player of the Year nominations for 2021 not including any Springboks?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It's a disgrace! Both Siya Kolisi AND Eben Etzebeth should have been nominated!
39% - 5542 votes
Siya, at the very least, should have been included after a superb season
7% - 936 votes
Etzebeth has been SA's best player this year and should feel hard done by
20% - 2886 votes
Get over it! Moaning about this just sounds like sour grapes!
34% - 4723 votes