Pumas wary of Louw factor

Francois Louw (Getty Images)
Francois Louw (Getty Images)
Cape Town - Argentina believe flank Francois Louw will be the danger man in their Rugby Championship Test against the Springboks at FNB Stadium on Saturday.

While the new scrum laws have taken centre stage in the build-up to the game, the Pumas have stressed the importance of the breakdown area.

Louw has been instrumental in that area for the Boks in recent Tests, and the Argentinians believe Saturday will be no different.

Two of Louw's team-mates at English club Bath - hooker Eusebio Guinazu and wing Horacio Agulla - are in the Pumas squad for the Test.

Guinazu, who also had a stint with Louw at the Stormers in 2010, said they would be going all-out to keep the Bok No 6 quiet on Saturday.

"You just can't let him get over the ball, you can't give him a chance because he will punish you," Guinazu told the SARugbymag website. "We've just got to make sure that our ball-carriers stay on their feet for as long as possible, that they don't get isolated and Flo comes into play."

The Pumas were also dealt a blow when captain and openside flank Juan Martin Fernandez Lobbe was ruled out with a calf injury, with centre Felipe Contepomi taking over the captaincy.

Louw, in a recent interview, stated that Lobbe would be a key player to Argentina's cause in the Rugby Championship. Lobbe is replaced by Juan Manuel Leguizamon.

The clash kicks off at 17:00 on Saturday.


South Africa:

15. Willie le Roux, 14 Bjorn Basson, 13 JJ Engelbrecht, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Ruan Pienaar, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Juandré Kruger, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Jannie du Plessis, 2 Adriaan Strauss, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes 16 Bismarck du Plessis, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Flip van der Merwe, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Fourie du Preez, 22 Pat Lambie, 23 Jan Serfontein


15. Juan Martin Hernandez, 14. Gonzalo Camacho, 13. Marcelo Bosch, 12. Felipe Contepomi (captain), 11. Juan Imhoff, 10. Nicolas Sanchez, 9. Martin Landajo, 8. Leonardo Senatore, 7. Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 6. Pablo Matera, 5. Patricio Albacete, 4. Manuel Carizza, 3. Matias Diaz, 2. Eusebio Guinazu, 1. Juan Figallo

Substitutes: 16. Agustin Creevy, 17. Nahuel Lobo, 18. Juan Pablo Orlandi, 19. Mariano Galarza, 20. Julio Farias Cabello, 21. Tomas Cubelli, 22. Santiago Fernandez, 23. Horacio Agulla
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5766 votes
11% - 1436 votes
19% - 2432 votes
2% - 299 votes
1% - 116 votes
2% - 297 votes
5% - 640 votes
8% - 1046 votes
3% - 408 votes
Water sports
1% - 116 votes
American sports
1% - 126 votes
3% - 374 votes