Breakdown of Bok Rugby Championship squad

Siya Kolisi (Gallo Images)
Siya Kolisi (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Beaten 2018 Super Rugby finalists, the Lions, as well as the Stormers who struggled throughout the tournament, both have nine representatives in Rassie Erasmus' Rugby Championship squad.

READ: John Mitchell's Bulls exit a 'done deal'

The Lions, who topped the South African Conference, went down 37-18 after a brave performance in the final against the Crusaders in Christchurch on Saturday.

The Lions won nine of their 16 round robin matches, before beating the Jaguares and Waratahs in the quarter-finals and semi-finals at Ellis Park.

The Stormers had a season to forget, winning only six of their 16 matches, but boast nine players in the squad, including skipper Siya Kolisi and returning lock, Eben Etzebeth.

The Sharks, who snuck into the Super Rugby playoffs in eighth place before being thrashed by the Crusaders 40-10 in the quarter-finals, have eight Bok representatives.

The Bulls, who endured their worst ever Super 15 season, finishing as wooden-spoonists in the SA Conference after six wins from their 16 matches, have six players in the 35-man squad.

The remaining three players are all England-based - Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks), Willie le Roux (Wasps) and Francois Louw (Bath).

The Springbok squad for the Rugby Championship (in alphabetical order - name and surname, franchise/club, Test caps and points):

Forwards (20)

Cyle Brink (Lions), Jean-Luc du Preez (Sharks), Thomas du Toit (Sharks), Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers), Eben Etzebeth (Stormers), Steven Kitshoff (Stormers), Siya Kolisi (captain - Stormers), Francois Louw (Bath, England), Wilco Louw (Stormers), Frans Malherbe (Stormers), Malcolm Marx (Lions), Bongi Mbonambi (Stormers), Franco Mostert (Lions), Tendai Mtawarira (Sharks), Sikhumbuzo Notshe (Stormers), Marvin Orie (Lions), RG Snyman (Bulls), Akker van der Merwe (Sharks), Marco van Staden (Bulls), Warren Whiteley (Lions)

Backs (15)

Lukhanyo Am (Sharks), Ross Cronjé (Lions), Faf de Klerk (Sale Sharks, England), Aphiwe Dyantyi (Lions), André Esterhuizen (Sharks), Elton Jantjies (Lions), Jesse Kriel (Bulls), Willie le Roux (Wasps, England), Makazole Mapimpi (Sharks), Lionel Mapoe (Lions), Lwazi Mvovo (Sharks), Embrose Papier (Bulls), Handré Pollard (Bulls), Ivan van Zyl (Bulls), Damian Willemse (Stormers)

loading... Live
England 0
Pakistan 139/2 (49 ov)
loading... Live
England 0
Pakistan 139/2 (49 ov)
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5636 votes
11% - 1399 votes
19% - 2350 votes
2% - 286 votes
1% - 111 votes
2% - 284 votes
5% - 623 votes
8% - 1003 votes
3% - 395 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 123 votes
3% - 363 votes