All Blacks assistant sidesteps Read cheap shot claims

accreditation
Ian Foster
Ian Foster

Cape Town - New Zealand assistant coach Ian Foster has refrained from commenting directly on an incident involving their skipper Kieran Read during the 23-13 Rugby World Cup win over South Africa in Yokohama at the weekend.

Video footage (WATCH below) emerged of Read taking out Springbok flank Pieter-Steph du Toit at a lineout - it was off the ball and no doubt high and dangerous, while also preventing Du Toit from tackling All Blacks scrumhalf Aaron Smith.

The incident went unpunished by French referee Jerome Garces and Read was also not cited within the mandatory 24-hour period following the match.

Social media was abuzz over the incident, with many calling for Read to be reprimanded.

When probed about the incident at a press conference on Monday, Foster admitted he had seen it but did not want to comment directly.

"I think the game needs to be reassured we are probably the most scrutinised World Cup we've ever had with the amount of cameras on and what people are looking at, and citing commissioners and TMOs. You've just got to have faith in that programme rather than reacting to social media," Foster said, as quoted by the Stuff.co.nz website.

- Compiled by Herman Mostert

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2562 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2322 votes
Vote