1 Blitzbok named in Vancouver Dream Team


Muller du Plessis is the only South African named in the Dream Team following the Vancouver Sevens.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

The Blitzboks finished fourth after losing 26-19 to hosts Canada in the Bronze Final on Sunday.

New Zealand, who beat Australia 17-14 in the Cup Final, have two players in the Dream Team - Tim Mikkelson and Caleb Clarke.

The rest of the comprise two each from Australia (Lachie Anderson and Lachie Miller) and Canada (Harry Jones and Nathan Hirayama).

Meanwhile, the Blitzboks remain in second place on the overall World Rugby Sevens Series standings, 11 points behind New Zealand.

The next tournament is the London Sevens on 23-24 May, followed by Paris on 30-31 May.

- Compiled by Herman Mostert

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
With Faf de Klerk out injured, who should start at scrumhalf for the Springboks against Wales on 6 November?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Herschel Jantjies
33% - 391 votes
Cobus Reinach
64% - 763 votes
Grant Williams
3% - 38 votes