Blitzbok duo make CT Dream Team

Justin Geduld (Gallo Images)
Justin Geduld (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Following their victory at the Cape Town Sevens, two South Africans were included in the Dream Team for the tournament.

The Blitzboks beat Argentina 29-14 in the final on Sunday night to win the first ever World Rugby Sevens Series event staged at Cape Town Stadium.

It was also South Africa’s third successive tournament win in their home country, having triumphed in Port Elizabeth the last two years.

Following their victory, two Blitzboks - Justin Geduld and Philip Snyman - were included in the Dream Team.

Kenya - who surprised by making the Cup semi-finals - also have two representatives in the team in Collins Injera and Willy Ambaka.

Finalists Argentina have one representative in Bautista Ezcurra, while Fiji’s Apisai Domolailai and France’s Virimi Vakatawa also cracked the nod for the team.

South Africa’s Geduld was also named Player of the Final and currently sits fourth on the point scorer’s list for the season with 85.

The Blitzboks’ tournament win also sees them level on points (35) with Fiji on the overall standings, although the Islanders still occupy top spot via a superior points difference.

The Fijians beat the USA 29-19 in the Plate Final after they were surprisingly beaten 17-14 by France in the Cup quarter-finals.

The next tournament on the World Rugby Sevens Series circuit is scheduled for Wellington, New Zealand on the weekend on January 30-31.

loading... Live
England 0
Pakistan 62/1 (23.4 ov)
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5898 votes
11% - 1464 votes
19% - 2511 votes
2% - 307 votes
1% - 123 votes
2% - 304 votes
5% - 657 votes
8% - 1092 votes
3% - 418 votes
Water sports
1% - 120 votes
American sports
1% - 129 votes
3% - 384 votes