Blitzboks drawn with Australia at Paris Sevens

Neil Powell (Getty Images)
Neil Powell (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The Blitzboks have been drawn in a tricky pool for this weekend's Paris Sevens.

Neil Powell's charges will play alongside Australia, Wales and Kenya in Pool B for the final event on the 2018/19 World Rugby Sevens series calendar.

The South Africans were beaten 29-22 by Australia in the Cup quarter-finals of this past weekend's London Sevens and will be eager to make amends.

The Blitzboks ended the London Sevens in joint-seventh spot after also losing their fifth-place semi-final 21-17 to New Zealand.

It was however enough for Powell's men to qualify for the Olympic Games in Tokyo next year.

The top four teams in the World Rugby Sevens Series were guaranteed an automatic passage to the Olympic Games in the Japanese capital in 2020, with the USA, Fiji, New Zealand the other teams to have done so.

Pools for London Sevens:

Pool A

Fiji, Ireland, Argentina, England

Pool B

South Africa, Australia, Wales, Kenya

Pool C

USA, Canada, Samoa, Spain

Pool D

New Zealand, France, Scotland, Japan

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 11417 votes
12% - 3298 votes
19% - 5147 votes
3% - 693 votes
1% - 268 votes
2% - 640 votes
5% - 1411 votes
8% - 2335 votes
3% - 924 votes
Water sports
1% - 245 votes
American sports
1% - 335 votes
3% - 898 votes