Senatla lone Blitzbok in Sydney Sevens Dream Team

Seabelo Senatla (Gallo Images)
Seabelo Senatla (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Speedster Seabelo Senatla was the lone South African Sevens player named in the Dream Team following the Australian leg of the 2017/18 World Rugby Sevens Series in Sydney on Sunday.

Senatla scored eight tries in the tournament, one fewer than USA flyer Perry Baker.

Senatla was joined by no fewer the three members of the victorious Australian team - Tim Anstee, Lewis Holland and Ben O'Donnell - with Fijian Josua Vakurunabili, American Ben Pinkleman and Argentina's Franco Sabato completing the seven-man line-up.

Australia won the tournament after they thrashed the Blitzboks 29-0 in the final for their first tournament win since 2012 in Tokyo and, unbelievably, their first home soil victory in 16 years (Ballymore in Brisbane in 2002).

Remaining tournaments in the 2017/18 World Rugby Sevens Series:

February 3-4: Hamilton, New Zealand

March 2-4: Las Vegas, USA

March 10-11: Vancouver, Canada

April 6-8: Hong Kong

April 28-29: Singapore

June 2-3: London

June 8-10: Paris

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
West Bromwich Albion 0
Sheffield United 0
loading... Live
Western Province 20
Bulls 22
loading... Live
Wales 13
England 24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 10057 votes
11% - 2700 votes
19% - 4547 votes
2% - 595 votes
1% - 226 votes
2% - 553 votes
5% - 1185 votes
8% - 1997 votes
3% - 810 votes
Water sports
1% - 213 votes
American sports
1% - 298 votes
3% - 771 votes