Boks dominate nominations for 2019 SA Rugby Awards

Cheslin Kolbe (Getty Images)
Cheslin Kolbe (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The Springboks' successful 2019 season is reflected by the nominations in a number of the main categories in the annual SA Rugby Awards, with World Player of the Year Pieter-Steph du Toit and fellow global nominee, Cheslin Kolbe, both ranked in the top five local players for the season.

Register your interest for the British & Irish Lions tickets in South Africa 2021

Du Toit, a two-time winner of the SA Rugby Player of the Year Award, and Kolbe, who recently walked away with a string of accolades in France, face stiff opposition from red-hot backs Damian de Allende and Makazole Mapimpi, and another former winner in Duane Vermeulen, for the top individual prize for 2019.

Furthermore, the Springboks and Rassie Erasmus, who were also honoured at the World Rugby Awards last month, have been nominated in the prestigious Team and Player of the Year categories.

Neil Powell and the Blitzboks, and Franco Smith and his Currie Cup-winning Free State Cheetahs side are the other nominees in these categories.

The nominees for Young Player of the Year (U23) are Curwin Bosch, Herschel Jantjies, Sbu Nkosi, JJ van der Mescht and Damian Willemse.

Up for the award of Junior Springbok Player of the Year are SA U20 captain Phendulani Buthelezi, Jaden Hendrikse and JJ van der Mescht, while Kurt-Lee Arendse, Selvyn Davids, Werner Kok and Blitzbok captain Siviwe Soyizwapi have been nominated for the Springbok Sevens Player of the Year award.

"We can look back on a wonderful year capped by the Springboks' magnificent performances in winning the Rugby World Cup and the Castle Lager Rugby Championship, which were the cherry on top for rugby in South Africa after a number of couple of tough years," said Mark Alexander, president of SA Rugby.

"The Springboks' resurgence under Rassie Erasmus and his coaching team culminated in Japan and their nominations are testimony to this.

"We're also very proud of the Blitzboks and Neil Powell. They were in a rebuilding phase and although they didn't defend their World Series crown, they qualified for the 2020 Tokyo Olympics and we back them to repeat the Springboks’ success from this year in Japan.

"I would like to congratulate all the nominees for their outstanding performances over the last year and wish them well for 2020, which is an important year for us as we simply have to take the success of the last few months into the new season."

Other categories where awards will be made are: Craven Week Player of the Tournament, Referee of the Year, Springbok Women’s Achiever of the Year, and Club Player of the Year.

Details of the announcement of the winners' names will be made early in the new season next year.

Nominees (in alphabetic order):

SA Rugby Player of the Year

1 Damian de Allende

2 Pieter-Steph du Toit

3 Cheslin Kolbe

4 Makazole Mapimpi

5 Duane Vermeulen

SA Rugby Young Player of the Year

1 Curwin Bosch

2 Herschel Jantjies

3 Sbu Nkosi

4 JJ van der Mescht

5 Damian Willemse

Team of the Year

1 Free State Cheetahs

2 Springboks

3 Springbok Sevens

Coach of the Year

1 Rassie Erasmus

2 Neil Powell

3 Franco Smith

Junior Springbok Player of the Year

1 Phendulani Buthelezi

2 Jaden Hendrikse

3 JJ van der Mescht

Springbok Sevens Player of the Year

1 Kurt-Lee Arendse

2 Selvyn Davids

3 Werner Kok

4 Siviwe Soyizwapi

Super Rugby Player of the Tournament

1 Pieter-Steph du Toit (Stormers)

2 Handre Pollard (Bulls)

3 Duane Vermeulen (Bulls)

Currie Cup Premier Division Player of the Year

1 Joseph Dweba (Free State Cheetahs)

2 Tyrone Green (Golden Lions)

3 Ruan Pienaar (Free State Cheetahs)

Currie Cup First Division Player of the Year

1 Cody-Anthony Basson (Griffons)

2 Athenkosi Mayinje (EP Elephants)

3 Domingo Miotti (Jaguares XV)

4 Robbie Petzer (Griffons)

SuperSport Rugby Challenge Player of the Year

1 Jamba Ulengo (FS Cheetahs XV)

2 Anthony Volmink (Griquas)

3 George Whitehead (Griquas)

SA Rugby Associate Member of the Year:

1 SA Deaf Rugby Association (SADRA)

2 SA Rugby League Sporting Associations (SARLSA)

3 SA Schools Rugby Association (SASRA)

4 SA Wheelchair Rugby (SAWR)

- SA Rugby

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
After the opening weekend of URC action, what did you make of the South African struggles?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
It exposed the quality of South African rugby...
39% - 2044 votes
There were positives to take
7% - 359 votes
We shouldn't read too much into one weekend
17% - 886 votes
It will take the SA sides time to adjust to the new competition
38% - 1989 votes