Teichmann: Bulldoze Wales!

Gary Teichmann (Gallo Images)
Gary Teichmann (Gallo Images)
Cape Town - Former Springbok captain Gary Teichmann has given the Springboks advice on how to beat Wales in their Test in Cardiff on Saturday.

The Springboks were praised for showing a lot of attacking intent in the recently completed Rugby Championship when they finished second behind the All Blacks.

Their last match at Ellis Park was a high-paced encounter and despite the Boks going down 38-27, they scored some spectacular tries and made numerous line-breaks.

However, the 46-year-old Teichmann believes South Africa should temper their approach on Saturday and employ their renowned power-game to wear down the Six Nations champions.

In an interview with the Wales Online website, Teichmann predicted a Springbok victory but warned that if the Boks try and play an expansive game from the get go, they could find themselves in trouble.

He said the Welsh will capitalise on Springbok mistakes and said Heyneke Meyer's charges should "bulldoze Wales" by not playing to their strengths.

He said the Boks must focus on dominating the set pieces before earning the right to unleash strike-runners like Jaque Fourie, Jean de Villiers, Bryan Habana and JP Pietersen.

Teichmann, who played 42 Tests for the Springboks between 1995 and 1999, also said he was impressed by "some fantastic youngsters with an enormous amount of talent" coming through for the Boks and feels coach Heyneke Meyer is building a special team.

Kick-off at the Millennium Stadium is at 19:30 (SA time) on Saturday.



15 Leigh Halfpenny, 14 George North, 13 Jonathan Davies, 12 Scott Williams, 11 Eli Walker, 10 Rhys Priestland, 9 Mike Phillips, 8 Toby Faletau, 7 Sam Warburton (captain), 6 Dan Lydiate, 5 Alun Wyn Jones, 4 Bradley Davies, 3 Adam Jones, 2 Richard Hibbard, 1 Gethin Jenkins

Substitutes: 16 Ken Owens, 17 Paul James, 18 Scott Andrews, 19 Luke Charteris, 20 Justin Tipuric, 21 Lloyd Williams, 22 James Hook, 23 Liam Williams

South Africa:

15 Patrick Lambie, 14 JP Pietersen, 13 Jaque Fourie, 12 Jean de Villiers (captain), 11 Bryan Habana, 10 Morné Steyn, 9 Fourie du Preez, 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Willem Alberts, 6 Francois Louw, 5 Flip van der Merwe, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira.

Substitutes: 16 Adriaan Strauss, 17 Gurthrö Steenkamp 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Siya Kolisi, 21 Ruan Pienaar, 22 JJ Engelbrecht, 23 Willie le Roux
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7811 votes
11% - 1966 votes
19% - 3573 votes
3% - 464 votes
1% - 171 votes
2% - 440 votes
5% - 915 votes
8% - 1542 votes
3% - 612 votes
Water sports
1% - 168 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 571 votes