Chiefs name squad for SA tour

Aaron Cruden (Getty Images)
Aaron Cruden (Getty Images)
Cape Town - Two-time defending Super Rugby champions, the Chiefs, have announced their 27-man squad to travel to Perth and South Africa.

The Chiefs will play three matches on tour against the Western Force, Bulls and the Cheetahs.

After the Chiefs' 36-20 win over the Stormers at Waikato Stadium on Friday, centre Charlie Ngatai injured his calf muscle and will be out for 4-6 weeks, Chiefs' official website reports.

Wing James Lowe damaged his MCL knee ligament and will also remain back in New Zealand with an expected recovery time of 4-6 weeks.

Centre Robbie Fruean will be having an ablation procedure for an arrhythmia and will remain in New Zealand. The expectation around his return to play is 4-8 weeks.

Ben Afeaki, Sam Cane and Augustine Pulu move off the injured list to join the travelling group and will be joined by wider training squad members Brad Webber, Anton Lienert-Brown and Jordan Payne. Payne was involved with the side during the pre-season.

Chiefs travelling squad:

Ben Afeaki
Gareth Anscombe
Sam Cane
Aaron Cruden (captain)
Michael Fitzgerald
Josh Hohneck
Andrew Horrell
Tawera Kerr-Barlow
Tanerau Latimer
Anton Lienert-Brown
Jamie Mackintosh
Pauliasi Manu
Rhys Marshall
Tom Marshall
Liam Messam
Mils Muliaina
Tim Nanai-Williams
Jordan Payne
Augustine Pulu
Brodie Retallick
Mahonri Schwalger
Liam Squire
Matt Symons
Ben Tameifuna
Kane Thompson
Asaeli Tikoirotuma
Brad Webber
loading... Live
Baroka FC 0
Bloemfontein Celtic 0
loading... Live
England 219 & 55/1 (22 ov, target 277)
Pakistan 326 & 169
loading... Live
England 219 & 55/1 (22 ov, target 277)
Pakistan 326 & 169
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5721 votes
11% - 1417 votes
19% - 2406 votes
2% - 294 votes
1% - 113 votes
2% - 291 votes
5% - 631 votes
8% - 1017 votes
3% - 403 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 125 votes
3% - 365 votes