Super Rugby

Beast named Sharks captain for Kings clash

Beast Mtawarira (Gallo Images)
Beast Mtawarira (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Tendai 'Beast' Mtawarira has been named as Sharks captain for their Super Rugby opener against the Kings in Port Elizabeth on Saturday. 

Coach Gary Gold named his side on Thursday, and Mtawarira has been given the captaincy in the absence of the injured Patrick Lambie. 

There had been speculation that Marcell Coetzee, named vice-captain under Lambie before the start of the season, would be given the captaincy but Gold has opted for the 75-Test Springbok veteran instead. 

Gold has also opted for Joe Pietersen at flyhalf ahead of Super Rugby novice Garth April, who has been named on the substitutes bench. 

Fullback Wille le Roux, meanwhile, will make his Sharks debut.

"We're excited to announce the appointment of Beast as stand-in Super Rugby captain in the absence of Pat Lambie. Beast has been part of our leadership group under Pat and is a respected and key member of our squad," Gold said.

"Pat is still the team captain; however his injury lay-off has necessitated an interim change in captaincy and the appointment of Beast made sense.  

"He was vice-captain in our match against Toulon and when Pat went off the field, we felt that Beast did a particularly good job that night.

"Beast has been at the Sharks for 10 years now and his heart bleeds for this team. He has grown in leaps and bounds as not only a player and one of the best loose-heads in the world, but as a leader and a revered member of the team."

Kick-off on Saturday is at 15:05.



15 Jurgen Visser, 14 Luzuko Vulindlu, 13 JP du Plessis, 12 Shane Gates, 11 Malcolm Jaer, 10 Elgar Watts, 9 Ntando Kebe, 8 Jacques Engelbrecht, 7 Thembelani Bholi, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 JC Astle, 4 Steven Sykes (captain), 3 Tom Botha, 2 Martin Ferreira, 1 Schalk Ferreira

Substitutes: 16 Edgar Marutlulle, 17 Sti Sithole, 18 Louis Albertse, 19 Schalk Oelofse, 20 Cyril-John Velleman, 21 Leighton Eksteen, 22 Louis Fouche, 23 Charles Radebe


15. Willie le Roux, 14. Odwa Ndungane, 13. Paul Jordaan, 12. Andre Esterhuizen, 11. Lwazi Mvovo, 10. Joe Pietersen, 9. Cobus Reinach, 8. Daniel du Preez, 7. Jean-Luc du Preez, 6. Marcell Coetzee, 5. Hyron Andrews, 4. Etienne Oosthuizen, 3. Coenie Oosthuizen, 2. Franco Marais, 1. Tendai Mtawarira (captain) 

Substitutes: 16. Kyle Cooper, 17. Juan Schoeman, 18. Lourens Adriaanse, 19. Dave McDuling, 20. Philip van der Walt, 21. Michael Claassens, 22. Garth April, 23. S’bura Sithole 

loading... Live
England 92/4 (28 ov)
Pakistan 326
loading... Live
England 92/4 (28 ov)
Pakistan 326
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5681 votes
11% - 1403 votes
19% - 2381 votes
2% - 290 votes
1% - 112 votes
2% - 287 votes
5% - 628 votes
8% - 1012 votes
3% - 401 votes
Water sports
1% - 111 votes
American sports
1% - 124 votes
3% - 365 votes