Super Rugby

Brumbies too good for wasteful Hurricanes

Cape Town - The Brumbies kept their slim hopes of a Super Rugby playoff spot alive with a well-deserved victory over the Hurricanes in Canberra on Saturday.

As it happened: Brumbies v Hurricanes

The Brumbies won 24-12 after trailing 12-5 at half-time.

The Brumbies scored four tries through centre Kyle Godwin, hooker Folau Fainga'a, lock Rory Arnold and wing Andrew Muirhead. Flyhalf Christian Lealiifano added a conversion, as did replacement Matt Lucas.

The Hurricanes, who were missed a string of their All Blacks stars, replied with tries by scrumhalf TJ Perenara and wing Julian Savea. Centre Jordie Barrett was on target with a conversion.

The Brumbies picked up four points for their win, but stayed third in the Australian Conference. They did however move to ninth in the Overall standings, one spot outside the playoffs with two matches to play.

The Hurricanes, who were wasteful in their play and frustrated by referee Nick Briant's at times puzzling interpretations of the law, left empty-handed.

Despite their point-less trip across the Tasman Sea, the Hurricanes stayed second and fourth in the New Zealand Conference and Overall log, respectively, but does mean their compatriots, the Crusaders, only require one more point from their remaining two matches to clinch the all-important top spot in the standings - and a potential home final should they progress that far.

In next weekend's Round 18 action, the Brumbies travel to Hamilton to play the Chiefs (Saturday, July 7 at 07:15 SA time), while the Hurricanes welcome the Blues to Wellington (Saturday, July 7 at 09:35 SA time).



15 Tom Banks, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Tevita Kuridrani, 12 Kyle Godwin, 11 Andrew Muirhead, 10 Christian Lealiifano (captain), 9 Joe Powell, 8 Isi Naisarani, 7 David Pocock, 6 Tom Cusack, 5 Blake Enever, 4 Rory Arnold, 3 Ben Alexander, 2 Folau Fainga'a, 1 Scott Sio

Substitutes: 16 Connal McInerney, 17 Nic Mayhew, 18 Les Leuluaialii-Makin, 19 Richie Arnold, 20 Darcy Swain, 21 Matt Lucas, 22 Wharenui Hawera, 23 Lausii Taliauli


15 Nehe Milner-Skudder, 14 Julian Savea, 13 Jordie Barrett, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Ben Lam, 10 Jackson Garden-Bachop, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Gareth Evans, 7 Sam Henwood, 6 Reed Prinsep, 5 Sam Lousi, 4 Michael Fatialofa, 3 Jeff Toomaga-Allen 2 Ricky Riccitelli, 1 Toby Smith

Substitutes: 16 James O'Reilly, 17 Chris Eves, 18 Marcel Renata, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Blade Thomson, 21 Jamie Booth, 22 Ihaia West, 23 Wes Goosen

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24