Super Rugby

Chiefs miss out on bonus-point win over Brumbies

Damian McKenzie (Getty Images)
Damian McKenzie (Getty Images)

Cape Town - The Chiefs have beaten the Brumbies in their Super Rugby clash at FMG Stadium in Waikato on Saturday.

As it happened: Chiefs v Brumbies

The Chiefs won 28-10 after leading 13-10 at half-time.

The Chiefs scored three tries through flyhalf Damian McKenzie, Solomona Alaimalo and Michael Leitch. McKenzie kicked 13 points for the New Zealand-side as he landed two conversions and kicked three penalties.

The Brumbies lone try came from Nigel Ah Wong while Wharenui Hawera kicked over the conversion and a penalty.

Both sides had already qualified for the quarter-finals but the Chiefs needed the bonus point.

The Chiefs now sit back and await the result of the Hurricanes v Crusaders match to see who they will play in the quarter-finals.

The team that emerges on top of the New Zealand Conference will play the Brumbies in Canberra next week, rather than enduring a draining trip to Cape Town to face the Stormers.

The Brumbies are guaranteed a home quarter-final next week after topping the Australian conference with just six wins.



Tries: Damian McKenzie, Solomona Alaimalo, Michael Leitch

Conversions: McKenzie (2)

Penalties: McKenzie (3)


Try: Nigel Ah Wong

Conversion: Wharenui Hawera

Penalty: Hawera



15 Damian McKenzie, 14 Solomon Alaimalo, 13 Alex Nankivell, 12 Charlie Ngatai, 11 James Lowe, 10 Aaron Cruden (captain), 9 Tawera Kerr-Barlow, 8 Michael Leitch, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Liam Messam, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Michael Allardice, 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Kane Hames.

Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Aidan Ross, 18 Atu Moli, 19 Tom Sanders, 20 Mitchell Karpik, 21 Finlay Christie, 22 Stephen Donald, 23 Shaun Stevenson


15 Jordan Jackson-Hope, 14 Henry Speight, 13 Nigel Ah Wong, 12 Andrew Smith, 11 James Dargaville, 10 Wharenui Hawera, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Lolo Fakaosilea, 7 Jarrad Butler, 6 Scott Fardy (captain), 5 Blake Enever, 4 Tom Staniforth, 3 Leslie Leulua'iali'i-Makin, 2 Robbie Abel, 1 Nic Mayhew.

Substitutes: 16 Josh Mann-Rea, 17 Scott Sio, 18 Ben Alexander, 19 Ben Hyne, 20 Tom Cusack, 21 Jordan Smiler, 22 Ryan Lonergan, 23 Tom Banks