Super Rugby

Crusaders make a whopping 10 changes!

Scott Robertson (Getty Images)
Scott Robertson (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Crusaders coach Scott Robertson has made 10 changes to his starting line-up for their Super Rugby clash with the Highlanders in Christchurch on Saturday (04:35 SA time).

The entire front row has changed, with Joe Moody, Codie Taylor and Owen Franks starting, and Wyatt Crockett, Mike Alaalatoa and Ben Funnell sitting on the bench.

The other changes up front are at lock, with Luke Romano staring and Quinten Strange shifting to the bench, and at loose forward with Matt Todd returning at No 7 in place of Pete Samu.

In the backline, Mitchell Drummond starts at scrumhalf this week. George Bridge and Seta Tamanivalu start on the wing, and Ryan Crotty and Jack Goodhue will run out at inside centre and outside centre respectively.

Bryn Hall will cover scrumhalf, while Mitchell Hunt and Israel Dagg complete the rest of the backline.

The last time the Crusaders and Highlanders played each other was in round two of the season, when the Crusaders snatched a last minute win in Dunedin. 

The Crusaders have won every game since, while the Highlanders have dropped just one game and won their last nine in a row.



15 David Havili, 14 Seta Tamanivalu, 13 Jack Goodhue, 12 Ryan Crotty, 11 George Bridge, 10 Richie Mo'unga, 9 Mitchell Drummond, 8 Jordan Taufua, 7 Matt Todd, 6 Heiden Bedwell-Curtis, 5 Sam Whitelock (captain), 4 Luke Romano, 3 Owen Franks, 2 Codie Taylor, 1 Joe Moody

Substitutes: 16 Ben Funnell, 17 Wyatt Crockett, 18 Michael Alaalatoa, 19 Quinten Strange, 20 Jed Brown, 21 Bryn Hall, 22 Mitchell Hunt, 23 Israel Dagg


15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Waisake Naholo, 13 Malakai Fekitoa, 12 Rob Thompson, 11 Richard Buckman, 10 Marty Banks, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Luke Whitelock, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Gareth Evans, 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Alex Ainley, 3 Siate Tokolahi, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown

Substitutes: 16 Ash Dixon (co-captain), 17 Aki Seiuli, 18 Siosuia Halanukonuka, 19 Joe Wheeler, 20 Elliot Dixon, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Lima Sopoaga, 23 Matt Faddes