Super Rugby

Doubts remain over Frans Steyn's availability as Cheetahs head for Newlands

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Frans Steyn
Frans Steyn

Cheetahs coach Hawies Fourie has named his team to tackle the Stormers in a Super Rugby Unlocked encounter at Newlands on Saturday.

Springbok centre Frans Steyn, who missed last weekend's match against the Sharks due to a groin injury, is back in the line-up although a call on his availability will be made later on Thursday.

"Our team hasn't quite been finalised yet. We're still waiting on Frans Steyn. He trained a little bit this morning and we'll give him time until this afternoon to see how he reacts to our training session," Fourie said on Thursday.

In case Steyn is not fit, his spot will again be taken by Chris Smit.

"Frans makes a big difference in terms of leadership and his decision-making on the field. He brings a calmness to our team and we're hoping he'll be available."

The rest of the Cheetahs backline remains unchanged.

Up front, No 8 Jeandre Rudolph starts in place of Aiden Davids. Rudolph recently signed for the Cheetahs after playing for the Pumas at the start of the competition.

Ian Groenewald also comes in at lock in place of JP du Preez in the only other change to the pack.

Saturday's clash kicks off at 19:00.



15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Ruhan Nel, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Herschel Jantjies, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 Salmaan Moerat, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Scarra Ntubeni, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain)

Substitutes (from): 16 Bongi Mbonambi, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Sazi Sandi, 19 Neethling Fouche, 20 Chris van Zyl, 21 David Meihuizen, 22 Ben-Jason Dixon, 23 Godlen Masimla, 24 Kade Wolhuter, 25 Michal Hazner, 26 Leolin Zas


15 Clayton Blommetjies, 14 Malcolm Jaer, 13 William Small-Smith, 12 Frans Steyn/Chris Smit, 11 Rosko Specman, 10 Tian Schoeman, 9 Tian Meyer, 8 Jeandre Rudolph, 7 Junior Pokomela (captain), 6 Andisa Ntsila, 5 Carl Wegner, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 Luan de Bruin, 2 Reinach Venter, 1 Charles Marais

Substitutes: 16 Marnus van der Merwe, 17 Boan Venter, 18 Khuta Mchunu, 19 JP du Preez, 20 Aidon Davis, 21 Ruben de Haas, 22 Reinhardt Fortuin, 23 Chris Smit/Howard Mnisi

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24