Super Rugby

Highlanders, Chiefs share spoils in Dunedin thriller

Cape Town - The Highlanders and Chiefs shared the spoils in an extraordinary all-New Zealand Super Rugby clash in Dunedin on Saturday.

As it happened: Highlanders v Chiefs

After 80 minutes, the scoreboard read 31-31 after the Highlanders led 14-12 at half-time

The Highlanders scored four tries through flyhalf Josh Ioane, fullback Ben Smith, wing Matt Faddes and flank James Lentjes. Ioane was on target with all four conversions as well as a penalty.

The Chiefs replied with five tries of their own, through scrumhalf Brad Weber, flank Luke Jacobson, replacement prop Angus Ta'avao (2) and No 8 Tyler Ardron. Flyhalf Marty McKenzie added three conversions.

Both All Blacks and Highlanders selectors will be sweating over yet another head knock and knee injury suffered by star fullback Ben Smith who was helped from the field in the final 10 minutes.

The Chiefs, who have been beset with injuries this season, suffered two further blows in the clash with loose forward Lachlan Boshier and lock - and captain - Michael Allardice both limping off early in the first half.

Both sides left with two log points which hardly seemed fitting of the all-action spectacle.

The Highlanders stayed third in the New Zealand Conference, but did move to fifth in the Overall log.

The Chiefs' points weren't enough to see them move off the bottom of the New Zealand Conference and out of 14th spot in the Overall standings.

In next weekend's Round 13 action, the Highlanders welcome the Jaguares to Dunedin (Saturday, May 11 - 07:15), while the Chiefs host the Sharks in Hamilton (Saturday, May 11 - 09:35).



15 Ben Smith (co-captain), 14 Matt Faddes, 13 Rob Thompson, 12 Teihorangi Walden, 11 Tevita Li, 10 Josh Ioane, 9 Aaron Smith, 8 Elliot Dixon, 7 James Lentjes, 6 Luke Whitelock (co-captain), 5 Tom Franklin, 4 Jackson Hemopo, 3 Tyrel Lomax, 2 Liam Coltman, 1 Daniel Lienert-Brown

Substitutes:16 Ash Dixon, 17 Ayden Johnstone, 18 Siate Tokolahi, 19 Josh Dickson, 20 Shannon Frizell, 21 Kayne Hammington, 22 Josh McKay, 23 Sio Tomkinson


15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14  Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Etene Nanai-Seturo, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Brad Weber, 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Michael Allardice (captain), 3 Nepo Laulala, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Atu Moli

Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Ryan Coxon, 18 Angus Ta'avao, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Taleni Seu, 21 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 22 Shaun Stevenson, 23 Bailyn Sullivan

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24