Super Rugby

Hurricanes' class proves too much for Chiefs

Cape Town - The class of the Hurricanes ultimately proved too much for a valiant Chiefs side in their all-New Zealand Super Rugby clash in Wellington on Saturday.

As it happened: Hurricanes v Chiefs

The Hurricanes won 47-19 after leading 28-12 at half-time.

The Hurricanes scored seven tries through fullback Jordie Barrett (2), lock Kane Le’aupepe, scrumhalf TJ Perenara, wing Wes Goosen, flank Ardie Savea and replacement back Salesi Rayasi. Flyhalf Beauden Barrett added six conversions.

The Chiefs replied with three tries by flanks Luke Jacobson and Lachlan Boshier, and wing Ataata Moeakiola. Flyhalf Marty McKenzie was on target with two conversions.

"We did the simple things well," Hurricanes captain TJ Perenara said in a post-match interview.

"That was one of the better games we have played of late. For us it's about building consistency in our performance."

Chiefs skipper Michael Allardice said a disappointing start ruined it for his side.

"Giving away 21 points early in the piece and trying to chase the Hurricanes down was never going to be easy. We set ourselves up to fail," he said.

The Hurricanes picked up a full-house of five points, but remained second in the New Zealand Conference and fourth in the Overall log.

The Chiefs, desperately missing their talisman Damian McKenzie, left empty-handed and remained bottom of the New Zealand Conference and 14th in the Overall standings.

In next weekend's Round 12 action, the Hurricanes welcome the Melbourne Rebels to Wellington (Saturday, May 4 at 07:15 SA time), while the Chiefs travel to Dunedin to play the Highlanders (Saturday, May 4 at 09:35 SA time).



15 Jordie Barrett, 14 Wes Goosen, 13 Matt Proctor, 12 Ngani Laumape, 11 Chase Tiatia, 10 Beauden Barrett, 9 TJ Perenara (captain), 8 Reed Prinsep, 7 Ardie Savea, 6 Vaea Fifita, 5 Kane Le’aupepe, 4 James Blackwell, 3 Ben May, 2 Asafo Aumua, 1 Fraser Armstrong.

Substitutes: 16 Ricky Riccitelli, 17 Xavier Numia, 18 Jeffery Toomaga-Allen, 19 Isaia Walker-Leawere, 20 Sam Henwood, 21 Richard Judd, 22 James Marshall, 23 Salesi Rayasi


15 Solomon Alaimalo, 14 Sean Wainui, 13 Tumua Manu, 12 Anton Lienert-Brown, 11 Ataata Moeakiola, 10 Marty McKenzie, 9 Te Toiroa Tahuriorangi, 8 Tyler Ardron, 7 Lachlan Boshier, 6 Luke Jacobson, 5 Mitchell Brown, 4 Michael Allardice (captain), 3 Angus Ta’avao, 2 Nathan Harris, 1 Atu Moli

Substitutes: 16 Liam Polwart, 17 Tevita Mafileo, 18 Sosefo Kautai, 19 Jesse Parete, 20 Taleni Seu, 21 Jonathan Taumateine, 22 Stephen Donald, 23 Alex Nankivell
We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24