Super Rugby

Hurricanes' Lomax in hot water after red card against Blues

Tyrel Lomax (Getty Images)
Tyrel Lomax (Getty Images)

Tyrel Lomax of the Hurricanes will appear before a SANZAAR disciplinary committee after he was cited following a red card against the Blues in a Super Rugby encounter on Saturday.

Lomax was sent off earlly in the second half after his shoulder connected the head of a Blues player as he attempted to tackle him. 

The incident was in contravention of rule 9.13 and 9.16 which states: "A player must not tackle an opponent early, late or dangerously. Dangerous tackling includes, but is not limited to, tackling or attempting to tackle an opponent above the line of the shoulders even if the tackle starts below the line of the shoulders. or in the alternative; A player must not charge or knock down an opponent carrying the ball without attempting to grasp that player."

The Blues went on to win the match 24-15.

Lomax's hearing will take place on Monday morning at 00:00 South African time.

- Compiled by Craig Taylor