Super Rugby

Jaguares embarrass diabolical Sharks in Durban

Tomas Cubelli (Gallo)
Tomas Cubelli (Gallo)

Cape Town - The inconsistent Sharks were handed yet another reality check as they were thrashed 51-17 by the Jaguares at Kings Park Stadium in Super Rugby on Saturday.

It felt like they had turned a corner last weekend when they delivered a similar drubbing to the Lions, but alas it seems as if their positive result was the fluke rather than the norm.

The match began very poorly for the hosts as Tomas Cubelli went over for the first try less than three minutes in after a blistering showing of pace by Tomas Lezana.

Despite hitting back with a converted Hyron Andrews try and even taking the lead briefly thanks to a Rob du Preez penalty, the first half as a whole will be 40 minutes of rugby many Sharks fans will want to forget.

Two further tries for the Jaguares by Pablo Matera and Matias Orlando left the home side reeling at 21-10 at half time.

Unfortunately things did not improve after the break, making this an entire match of rugby the home fans will hope to never remember or see repeated.

Matera added his second try of the game less than 120 seconds after play resumed after the break.

An unconverted Matais Moroni try in the 53rd minute left the Sharks with a mountain to climb at 36-10 and even when they showed a glimpse of class to claw a few points back thanks to a Aphelele Fassi try it always felt like it was mere consolation.

Orlando then bagged two more tries in the 66th and 80th minutes to complete his hattrick and a thoroughly dominating performance by the Argentine outfit.

The bonus point win sees the Jaguares rocket up to second in the South African Conference while the Sharks, who now have four wins from eight, stay top. They will slip down to second if the Bulls beat the Reds later on Saturday.

More to follow ...


Sharks 17 (10)

Tries: Hyron Andrews, Aphelele Fassi

Conversion: Robert du Preez, Curwin Bosch

Penalty: Du Preez

Jaguares 51 (21)

Tries: Tomas Cubelli, Pablo Matera (2), Matias Orlando (3), Matias Moroni

Conversions: Domingo Miotti (5)

Penalty: Miotti (2)



15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Lwazi Mvovo, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Louis Schreuder (captain), 8 Daniel du Preez, 7 Philip van der Walt, 6 Luke Stringer, 5 Hyron Andrews, 4 Ruben van Heerden, 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Kerron van Vuuren, 1 Juan Schoeman 

Substitutes: 16 Fez Mbatha, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 John-Hubert Meyer, 19 JJ van der Mescht, 20 Jean-Luc du Preez, 21 Grant Williams, 22 Kobus van Wyk, 23 Aphelele Fassi


15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Matias Moroni, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Jeronimo De La Fuente (captain), 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Domingo Miotti, 9 Tomas Cubelli, 8 Tomas Lezana, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera, 5 Tomas Lavanini 4 Guido Petti, 3 Santiago Medrano, 2 Julian Montoya, 1 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro

Substitutes: 16 Agustin Creevy, 17 Mayco Vivas, 18 Enrique Pieretto, 19 Javier Ortega Desio, 20 Rodrigo Bruni, 21 Felipe Ezcurra, 22 Juan Cruz Malva, 23 Santiago Carreras

loading... Live
Newcastle United 1
West Ham United 1
loading... Live
Liverpool 0
Aston Villa 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3430 votes
11% - 811 votes
18% - 1326 votes
2% - 144 votes
1% - 60 votes
2% - 155 votes
5% - 375 votes
7% - 538 votes
3% - 232 votes
Water sports
1% - 63 votes
American sports
1% - 57 votes
3% - 193 votes