Cape Town - Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagrees with the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers at Newlands this past weekend.
The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.
According to Law 10.2 (a), “A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.”
However, it was debatable whether Kolisi’s actions were intentional and according to Kaplan, Reinach could also have been penalised for using his left arm to propel himself forward.
Kaplan commented on the matter via his official Twitter account and also felt that it was questionable that Kolisi’s actions could be deemed as a kick in the first instance.
Kaplan said Jonker did not look at the intentions of Kolisi, and from the evidence provided it is unclear that Kolisi ever had any intention to kick the ball out of Reinach’s grasp.
Looked at potential obstruction in build up by sharks 3 .. Looks ok as stormer initiates contact and jumps out of allignment— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016
Then looked at Reinach and him using his left arm as a prop to help him get ball over the line after momentum . penalty is a distinct poss— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016
If you look at incident , it is clear Kolisi action is not intentional . questionable whether his action is actually a kick at all— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016
However .. Does the tmo look at intention or is he interested in outcome . and is that the correct philosophy in the first place— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016
Surely it is in the best interests of the game to be able to take a view on intention .. It would appear rough justice to card an accident !— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016
So .. In essence . no card . no try . penalty to Stormers . happy to argue this on any forum— Jonathan Kaplan (@RefJK) March 13, 2016