Super Rugby

Kaplan disagrees with penalty try

Jonathan Kaplan (Gallo Images)
Jonathan Kaplan (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Retired South African referee Jonathan Kaplan disagrees with the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers at Newlands this past weekend.

READ: I'm 100% correct, insists Jonker

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

According to Law 10.2 (a), “A penalty try must be awarded if the offence prevents a try that would probably otherwise have been scored. A player who prevents a try being scored through foul play must either be cautioned and temporarily suspended or sent off.”

However, it was debatable whether Kolisi’s actions were intentional and according to Kaplan, Reinach could also have been penalised for using his left arm to propel himself forward.

Kaplan commented on the matter via his official Twitter account and also felt that it was questionable that Kolisi’s actions could be deemed as a kick in the first instance.

Kaplan said Jonker did not look at the intentions of Kolisi, and from the evidence provided it is unclear that Kolisi ever had any intention to kick the ball out of Reinach’s grasp.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
46% - 4117 votes
Cricket
11% - 1019 votes
Football
18% - 1628 votes
Athletics
2% - 184 votes
Boxing
1% - 79 votes
Cycling
2% - 186 votes
Golf
5% - 452 votes
Motorsport
8% - 699 votes
Tennis
3% - 291 votes
Water sports
1% - 68 votes
American sports
1% - 69 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
3% - 236 votes
Vote