Super Rugby

Lambie back for Sharks, resumes captaincy

Pat Lambie (Gallo)
Pat Lambie (Gallo)

Durban - Springbok flyhalf Pat Lambie is back in the starting line-up for the first time since Week 3 ahead of Saturday's trip to Port Elizabeth to take on the Kings. 

Kick-off is at 17:15.

Lambie is now fully recovered from the fractured vertebra he sustained against the Waratahs back on March 11. 

Lambie replaces Curwin Bosch, who is with the SA Under-20 squad preparing for next month's World Rugby Under-20 Championship in Georgia. 

Head coach Robert du Preez has largely retained the same team that beat the Rebels last weekend, with just three rotational changes and one enforced.

Lambie takes over at No 10 as well as assuming the captaincy in one of two changes to the backline.

The other sees Lwazi Mvovo - who was rested last weekend - replacing Sbu Nkosi, who shifts to the bench following a promising debut last Saturday.

In a straight rotation in the front row, Beast Mtawarira returns for Thomas du Toit while Franco Marais and Chiliboy Ralepelle swap jerseys.

Commenting on the Sharks’ exchange of one special player for another with Lambie starting after Bosch stood in for him during his injury, assistant coach Sean Everitt was delighted to have the side's leader back.

"Pat is our captain and a player that the youngsters look up to so he’ll bring calmness and strong leadership which will make the job easier for the guys around him," he said.



15 Masixole Banda, 14 Wandile Mjekevu, 13 Berton Klaasen, 12 Luzuko Vulindlu, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Lionel Cronje (captain), 9 Louis Schreuder, 8 Andisa Ntsila, 7 Tyler Paul, 6 Chris Cloete, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Irne Herbst, 3 Ross Geldenhuys, 2 Martin Bezuidenhout, 1 Schalk van der Merwe

Substitutes: 16 Kurt Haupt/Tango Balekile, 17 Chris Heiberg 18 Dayan van der Westhuizen, 19 Lubabalo Mtyanda, 20 Stefaan Willemse, 21 Johan Steyn, 22 Nicolaas Hanekom, 23 Pieter-Steyn de Wet


15 Rhyno Smith, 14 Kobus van Wyk, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Jeremy Ward, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Pat Lambie (captain), 9 Michael Claassens, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5. Ruan Botha, 4 Etienne Oosthuizen, 3 Coenie Oosthuizen, 2 Franco Marais, 1 Tendai Mtawarira
Substitutes: 16 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 17 Thomas du Toit, 18 Lourens Adriaanse, 19 Stephan Lewies, 20 Tera Mtembu, 21 Cobus Reinach, 22 Garth April, 23 S’busiso Nkosi

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5852 votes
11% - 1450 votes
19% - 2468 votes
2% - 303 votes
1% - 123 votes
2% - 302 votes
5% - 648 votes
8% - 1074 votes
3% - 416 votes
Water sports
1% - 118 votes
American sports
1% - 128 votes
3% - 379 votes