Super Rugby

Lions wary of Jaguares scrum

Swys de Bruin (Gallo Images)
Swys de Bruin (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Lions coach Swys de Bruin expects a different challenge at scrum time when they take on the Jaguares in a Super Rugby clash in Johannesburg on Saturday (kick-off 17:15).

The Lions annihilated the Sharks scrum in last weekend’s 26-19 win at Ellis Park, with the visitors from Durban losing no fewer than six of their own scrum feeds.

De Bruin however expects a sterner test this weekend: “The scrum is a different animal every week because every team scrums differently. You have to be able to adapt to it. They (the Jaguares) had a few good scrums against the Stormers, so we have to be wary,” the Lions mentor told Netwerk24.

The Lions had a few troubles at lineout time against the Sharks but De Bruin is confident that the issues have been resolved.

“We were just a bit slow to react (against the Sharks). We took a few wrong options, but we’ve worked really hard at our reaction time. It will be better this week.”

De Bruin, meanwhile, has made two minor changes to his match-day squad.

Andries Ferreira, who withdrew at the last minute before the Sharks game, is back and will partner Springbok Franco Mostert at lock.

Marvin Orie, who stood in for Ferreira, drops out of the match-day squad.

Marco Jansen van Vuren is also included on the bench as reserve scrumhalf and will make his Super Rugby debut if he gets game time.

The Lions went into the Sharks game with no replacement scrumhalf, but have opted for a 5-3 forwards/backs split on the bench this week.

The 21-year-old Jansen Van Vuren, a former Junior Springbok, replaces loose forward Marnus Schoeman on the bench.



15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Harold Vorster, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Ross Cronje, 8 Warren Whiteley (captain), 7 Cyle Brink, 6 Kwagga Smith, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Andries Ferreira, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Malcolm Marx, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16 Robbie Coetzee, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Jacobie Adriaanse, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Hacjivah Dayimani, 21 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Rohan Janse van Rensburg


15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Tomas Lezana, 7 Javier Ortega, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Guido Petti, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Felipe Arregui

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Javier Manuel, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Matias Alemanno, 20 Marcos Kremer, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Leonardo Senatore, 23 Ramiro Moyano

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24