Super Rugby

Mallett agrees with penalty try decision

Nick Mallett (Gallo Images)
Nick Mallett (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Former Springbok coach Nick Mallett feels the penalty try awarded to the Sharks in their 18-13 Super Rugby win against the Stormers was the correct decision.

The Sharks were awarded a controversial penalty try early in the second half of the match at Newlands after television match official Marius Jonker deemed that Stormers flank Siya Kolisi kicked the ball out of Sharks scrumhalf Cobus Reinach’s hands as he attempted to dot the ball down.

Speaking in the SuperSport studio afterwards, Mallett said: “I thought the game turned on the yellow-card incident with Siya Kolisi. I don't believe he was deliberately kicking the ball (out of Cobus Reinach's hands). It was just bad luck. Those are the laws and I have no complaints about the referee's decision (to award a penalty try). The ball did go down on his foot and possession was lost. You're not allowed to kick the ball out of a player's hands.”

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24