Super Rugby

Rebels name unchanged XV to face Sunwolves

 Dave Wessels (Getty)
Dave Wessels (Getty)

Melbourne - Rebels head coach Dave Wessels has retained the same starting line-up for Saturday's clash against the Sunwolves in Tokyo. 

In all, there two changes to the match day 23 from last weekend’s 45-19 victory over the Queensland Reds in the season opener in Melbourne. 

Wessels has made two changes to the reserves with former England international lock Geoff Parling and experienced Rebels flanker Colby Fainga’a selected on the bench. 

Parling replaces Sam Jeffries in the match day 23 after Jeffries had to undergo a minor scope to his knee earlier in the week - which is expected to keep him out of action for 3 weeks. 

Captain Adam Coleman will make his 50th Super Rugby appearance on Saturday against the Sunwolves after one appearance for the Waratahs (2013), 47 games for the Western Force (2014-2017) and his debut for the Rebels last weekend against the Reds. 

The Rebels and Sunwolves will play for the Ganbatte Trophy on Saturday. 

The perpetual trophy, introduced between the two sides when the sides first met in 2016, will be on the line for just the second time when the Rebels take on the Sunwolves. 

The Rebels will defend the Ganbette Trophy for the first time after they became the inaugural holders courtesy of a 35-9 victory in Round 4, 2016.

Kick-off on Saturday is at 06:15 SA time.



15 Jason Emery, 14 Lomano Lava Lemeki, 13 Timothy Lafaele, 12 Ryoto Nakamura, 11 Hosea Saumaki, 10 Robbie Robinson, 9 Yutaka Nagare (captain), 8 Willem Britz, 7 Pieter Labuschagne, 6 Kazuki Himeno, 5 Grant Hattingh, 4 Sam Wykes, 3 Jiwon Koo, 2 Ho Shota Horie, 1 Keita Inagaki

Substitutes: 16 Jaba Bregvadze, 17 Craig Millar, 18 Asaeli Ai Valu, 19 James Moore, 20 Edward Quirk, 21 Fumiaki Tanaka, 22 Hayden Parker, 23 Sione Teaupa


15 Dane Haylett-Petty, 14 Jack Maddocks, 13 Tom English, 12 Reece Hodge, 11 Sefa Naivalu, 10 Jack Debreczeni, 9 Will Genia, 8 Amanaki Mafi, 7 Angus Cottrell, 6 Lopeti Timani, 5 Adam Coleman (captain), 4 Matt Philip, 3 Jermaine Ainsley, 2 Jordan Uelese, 1 Tetera Faulkner

Substitutes: 16 Anaru Rangi, 17 Fereti Sa’aga, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Geoff Parling, 20 Ross Haylett-Petty, 21 Colby Fainga’a, 22 Michael Ruru, 23 Billy Meakes

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24