Super Rugby

Reds side revealed to face Brumbies

Rob Simmons (Gallo)
Rob Simmons (Gallo)

Brisbane - The Reds have announced their team to play the Brumbies in their Super Rugby clash at Suncorp Stadium on Friday.

Departing stalwart Rob Simmons has been named as starting blindside flank in his final home game for the Reds, in one of a number of changes head coach Nick Stiles has made to the team for its penultimate match of the 2017 Super Rugby season. 

Simmons has been named in the number six jersey in place of the injured Hendrik Tui, who returned from international duties with shoulder and rib complaints. 

In one of two other changes to the forward pack, Stephen Moore returns to starting hooker and will captain the side in the absence of injured centre Samu Kerevi (ankle). 

The match will be Moore’s 176th Super Rugby appearance, which sees him overtake former All Blacks hooker Keven Mealamu as the second-most capped Super Rugby player of all time.

Adam Korczyk also returns to the starting side at number eight, in place of Scott Higginbotham, who has also been ruled out of Friday’s clash due to a lingering neck injury.

Stiles has also made two changes to the backline, with Campbell Magnay promoted to starting outside centre, in place of Kerevi, and winger Izaia Perese back in the starting side after returning from representing the Australian U20s. 

Recently re-signed loose forward Caleb Timu is again in line to make his Queensland and Super Rugby debut after being named in the reserves. 

Stiles said: “Friday night’s clash is important for a number of reasons. It’s our last opportunity to play in front of our home fans this season, it’s Rob’s last game in Queensland colours at Suncorp Stadium and we’ve got a point to prove against the Brumbies, after a disappointing result against them earlier in the year. 

“It’s a significant game. It’s important the group recognise that and make the most of it. We’ve got a great opportunity to put in a strong performance and acknowledge the contribution Rob has made to Queensland over a long period of time.”



15 Karmichael Hunt, 14 Izaia Perese, 13 Campbell Magnay, 12 Duncan Paia'aua, 11 Eto Nabuli, 10 Quade Cooper, 9 James Tuttle, 8 Adam Korczyk, 7 George Smith, 6 Rob Simmons, 5 Izack Rodda, 4 Kane Douglas, 3 Taniela Tupou, 2 Stephen Moore (captain), 1 Sef Fa'agase

Substitutes: 16 Alex Mafi, 17 Markus Vanzati, 18 Sam Talakai, 19 Cadeyrn Neville, 20 Caleb Timu, 21 Moses Sorovi, 22 Hamish Stewart, 23 Chris Kuridrani



We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24