Super Rugby

SA horror show complete as Lions go down to Jaguares

Cape Town - South Africa's tale of Super Rugby Round 6 woe was completed in Buenos Aires late on Saturday night when the Jaguares shocked their Lions visitors.

As it happened: Jaguares v Lions

The Jaguares, bottom of the South African Conference at kick-off, stunned the conference-topping Lions 49-35 after leading 25-14 at half-time.

The result highlighted the dire state of South African rugby at present with the Bulls having gone down 33-14 to the Crusaders, while the Sharks were thrashed 46-14 by the Rebels on Friday.

The Stormers regained a measure of national pride, beating the Reds 25-19 in a scrappy clash at Newlands earlier on Saturday.

The four SA side in 2018 to date have managed nine victories in 22 cumulative matches played and are 0-from-8 in matches in Australia and New Zealand.

The Jaguares scored six tries through wings Bautista Delguy and Emiliano Boffelli (2), No 8 Javier Ortega Desio (2) and centre Bautista Ezcurra. Flyhalf Nicolas Sanchez added five conversions and three penalties for a personal haul of 19 points.

The Lions replied with five tries through lock Marvin Orie, wing Sylvian Mahuza and replacement forwards Malcolm Marx (2) and Lourens Erasmus. Flyhalf Elton Jantjies was on target with all five conversions.

The Jaguares picked up four points for their victory and moved above the Bulls into fourth place in the South African Conference. They Lions left empty-handed, but remained top of the SA Conference.

In next weekend's Round 7 action, the Jaguares have a bye while the Lions face a daunting rematch of last year's final against the Crusaders at Ellis Park on Sunday, April 1 at 14:30.



15 Joaquin Tuculet, 14 Bautista Delguy, 13 Matias Orlando, 12 Bautista Ezcurra, 11 Emiliano Boffelli, 10 Nicolas Sanchez, 9 Gonzalo Bertranou, 8 Javier Ortega Desio, 7 Marcos Kremer, 6 Pablo Matera (captain), 5 Tomas Lavanini, 4 Matias Alemanno, 3 Nahuel Tetaz Chaparro, 2 Agustin Creevy, 1 Santiago Garcia Botta

Substitutes: 16 Julian Montoya, 17 Felipe Arregui, 18 Juan Pablo Zeiss, 19 Guido Petti, 20 Juan Manuel Leguizamon, 21 Martin Landajo, 22 Jeronimo de la Fuente, 23 Ramiro Moyano


15 Andries Coetzee, 14 Sylvian Mahuza, 13 Lionel Mapoe, 12 Rohan Janse van Rensburg, 11 Aphiwe Dyantyi, 10 Elton Jantjies, 9 Marco Jansen van Vuren, 8 Kwagga Smith, 7 Robert Kruger, 6 Cyle Brink, 5 Franco Mostert, 4 Marvin Orie, 3 Ruan Dreyer, 2 Robbie Coetzee, 1 Jacques van Rooyen

Substitutes: 16 Malcolm Marx, 17 Dylan Smith, 18 Johannes Jonker, 19 Lourens Erasmus, 20 Len Massyn, 21 Dillon Smit, 22 Howard Mnisi, 23 Shaun Reynolds

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24