Super Rugby

Sam Cane citing dismissed

Cape Town - A SANZAAR Judicial Hearing has found Chiefs skipper Sam Can not guilty of contravening Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, after he was cited during a Super Rugby match at the weekend.

No further sanction has been imposed on the player.

Cane was alleged to have contravened Law 10.4 (e) Dangerous Tackling, when he made contact with the Jaguares prop Nahuel Chaparro at a tackle contest during the match between the Jaguares and Chiefs at Velez Sarsfield in Buenos Aires on Saturday.

The Judicial Committee of Michael Heron QC and David Croft held the hearing by video conference on Tuesday morning. 

In their finding, the Judicial committee ruled the following: 

"The judicial committee tonight has considered the citing of Sam Cane for dangerous tackling contrary to Law 10.4(e).  The committee determined that it was not satisfied the citing was made out.
"A full decision will be issued in due course. In summary, the Committee found that the incident was an unfortunate combination of Mr Cane joining to create a maul in a permissible manner at the same time as Mr Chaparro fell rapidly to the ground.

"The contact between the shoulder of Mr Cane and the head of Mr Chaparro was unintentional and not able to be foreseen for that reason. 

"The Committee considered that what occurred could not be described as a tackle because Mr Chaparro was not the ball carrier.

"The Committee considered whether the contact between Mr Cane and Mr Chaparro could constitute foul play other than that described in the citing.  It was not satisfied that any other ground of foul play fairly described what occurred here.
"For those reasons, the citing was dismissed.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
58% - 59 votes
10% - 10 votes
13% - 13 votes
0% - 0 votes
0% - 0 votes
1% - 1 votes
3% - 3 votes
7% - 7 votes
3% - 3 votes
Water sports
0% - 0 votes
American sports
2% - 2 votes
3% - 3 votes