Super Rugby

Sharks coach praises 'legend' Daniel

Keegan Daniel (Gallo)
Keegan Daniel (Gallo)

Durban - Sharks coach Robert du Preez has paid tribute to stalwart Keegan Daniel, who earlier this week announced that he will retire at the end of the 2018 season.

Now 33, Daniel has struggled with injury over the past two seasons and with the likes of Jean-Luc du Preez, Dan du Preez, Philip van der Walt and Tera Mtembu currently in favour, Daniel has called time on his career. 

His crowning moment came in 2013 when he captained the Sharks to Currie Cup victory against Western Province in Cape Town. 

He is one of few players to have played 100 matches for one franchise in both Super Rugby and the Currie Cup, and coach Du Preez acknowledged what he had done for the union since joining in 2006.

"Keegan is a Sharks legend and a guy who has given a big part of his life to this union," Du Preez said.

"He is a fantastic captain and has played many games for the Sharks. He is a guy who has worked really hard to get to where he has got in his career.

"He has served this union really well and we wish him all the best with his new venture. I know he'll make a success of whatever he does."

Daniel has not been selected in the squad for Saturday's clash against the Stormers at Kings Park. 

Kick-off is as 17:15.



15 Curwin Bosch, 14 Sbu Nkosi, 13 Lukhanyo Am, 12 Andre Esterhuizen, 11 Makazole Mapimpi, 10 Robert du Preez, 9 Cameron Wright, 8 Dan du Preez, 7 Jean-Luc du Preez, 6 Philip van der Walt, 5 Stephan Lewies, 4 Ruan Botha (captain), 3 Thomas du Toit, 2 Chiliboy Ralepelle, 1 Juan Schoeman

Substitutes: 16 Akker van der Merwe, 17 Mzamo Majola, 18 Ross Geldenhuys, 19 Tyler Paul, 20 Jacques Vermeulen, 21 Louis Schreuder, 22 Marius Louw, 23 Lwazi Mvovo


15 Dillyn Leyds, 14 Craig Barry, 13 EW Viljoen, 12 Damian De Allende, 11 Raymond Rhule, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Dewaldt Duvenage, 8 Sikhumbuzo Notshe, 7 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 6 Siya Kolisi (captain), 5 Chris van Zyl, 4 Jan de Klerk, 3 Wilco Louw, 2 Ramone Samuels, 1 Steven Kitshoff

Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 JC Janse van Rensburg, 18 Carlu Sadie, 19 Kobus van Dyk, 20 Nizaam Carr, 21 Paul de Wet, 22 SP Marais, 23 JJ Engelbrecht