Super Rugby

Sharks get out the cheque book

Rhyno Smith (Getty)
Rhyno Smith (Getty)

Cape Town - The Sharks have announced the contract extensions of several players.

The Durbanites are hard at work ahead of next year’s Super Rugby competition, but have also made sure they secure the services of several promising youngsters.

Apart from recently extending hooker Akker van der Merwe’s contract until 2019, the Sharks also signed deals with several players of the future.

Props Mzamo Majola and John-Hubert Meyer (both until 2020), locks Hyron Andrews and Wian Vosloo (both until 2019), scrumhalf Cameron Wright (until 2019), utility back Courtney Winnaar (until 2020), fullback Rhyno Smith (until 2019) and centre Johan Deysel (until 2019) all signed deals with the Sharks in the last week.

The Sharks will open their 2018 Super Rugby campaign against the Lions in Johannesburg on Saturday, February 17.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24