Super Rugby

Stormers bounce back with runaway win over Griquas

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Stormers prop Neethling Fouche on the charge in their Super Rugby Unlocked encounter against Griquas in Kimberley on 7 November 2020.
Stormers prop Neethling Fouche on the charge in their Super Rugby Unlocked encounter against Griquas in Kimberley on 7 November 2020.
Carl Fourie/Gallo Images

The Stormers got their Super Rugby Unlocked campaign back on track with a resounding bonus-point win over Griquas in Kimberley on Saturday.

The men from the Cape ran in six tries to win 39-6, having led 15-3 at half-time.

AS IT HAPPENED | Griquas v Stormers

Last weekend, the Stormers lost 39-6 to the Bulls in Pretoria, and their coach John Dobson asked for more energy from his charges.

They duly obliged, with the Capetonians starting the game with much more intent and enterprise.

Flank Ernst van Rhyn scored the first try in the eight minute, before Griquas replied with a penalty through flyhalf Tinus de Beer after gaining an early upper hand at scrum time.

The Stormers, though, were doing all the playing and looked dangerous when swinging the ball wide.

However, their finishing let them down in the early stages as the Griquas defence held firm.

The Stormers kept probing, and with half-time approaching, the 8-3 scoreline flattered the hosts before Stormers prop Neethling Fouche barged over in the 34th minute.

Damian Willemse's conversion made it a 12-point advantage.

The visitors also gradually gained the upper hand in the scrums scrums, and they won a penalty on the stroke of half-time, but Willemse fluffed a relatively easy penalty attempt.

It saw the teams turn sides with the Stormers leading 15-3.

Griquas came out firing in the second half and an early penalty from De Beer reduced the deficit to nine points (15-6).

It should have been a six-point deficit after 45 minutes but De Beer missed an easy penalty from in front.

That miss proved crucial as the Stormers scored a minute later through flying winger Angelo Davids. It came after Griquas tried to run from inside their own half. De Beer's pass was wayward and centre Eduan Keyter couldn't control, allowing the Stormers to kick through with Davids following up brilliantly to score in the corner.

Willemse missed the conversion but the Stormers were ahead 20-6 after 49 minutes.

The lead was extended in the 52nd minute when outside centre Dan du Plessis rounded off after a great break from his midfield partner Rikus Pretorius.

Willemse converted this time for a 27-6 lead after 53 minutes.

No 8 Juarno Augustus scored the fifth try in the 65th minute when he rounded off after a another sniping break from the fleet-footed Davids.

By now the Stormers were rampant, launching one attack after the other and Willemse went over for the sixth try in the 72nd minute.

The visitors had more chances to score at the death, but an out-gunned Griquas deserve some credit for staying resolute on defence.

For the Stormers, fullback Warrick Gelant deserves a mention - the Springbok controlled matters well with his boot from the back and also proved his worth with ball in hand.

He was duly named man-of-the-match.

Dobson will also be chuffed with his powerful scrum wearing down Griquas, as well as the physicality shown by his pack.



Penalties: Tinus de Beer (2)


Tries: Ernst van Rhyn, Neethling Fouche, Angelo Davids, Dan du Plessis, Juarno Augustus, Damian Willemse

Penalty: Willemse

Conversions: Willemse (3)



15 James Verity-Amm, 14 Ederies Arendse, 13 Eduan Keyter, 12 Johnathan Francke, 11 Bjorn Basson, 10 Tinus de Beer, 9 Zak Burger (captain), 8 Carl Els, 7 Stefan Willemse, 6 Gideon van der Merwe, 5 Adre Smith, 4 Mzwanele Zito, 3 Ewald van der Westhuizen, 2 HJ Luus, 1 Mox Mxoli

Substitutes: 16 Monde Hadebe, 17 Andrew Beerwinkel, 18 Madot Mabokela, 19 Johan Momsen, 20 Ewan Coetzee, 21 Theo Maree, 22 George Whitehead, 23 Harlon Klaasen


15 Warrick Gelant, 14 Edwill van der Merwe, 13 Dan du Plessis, 12 Rikus Pretorius, 11 Angelo Davids, 10 Damian Willemse, 9 Paul de Wet, 8 Juarno Augustus, 7 Ernst van Rhyn, 6 Marcel Theunissen, 5 JD Schickerling, 4 David Meihuizen, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Bongi Mbonambi, 1 Steven Kitshoff (captain)

Substitutes: 16 Scarra Ntubeni, 17 Kwenzo Blose, 18 Frans Malherbe, 19 Salmaan Moerat, 20 Ben-Jason Dixon, 21 Godlen Masimla, 22 Tim Swiel, 23 Ruhan Nel

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24