Varsity Cup

Maties overpower Tuks in Varsity Cup

Varsity Cup logo (File)
Varsity Cup logo (File)

Cape Town - The Maties beat the UP Tuks 49-11 on Monday evening in the second semi-final to reach the 2016 Varsity Cup final, which will be hosted by Maties at the Danie Craven Stadium on Monday 11 April. 

They will play NWU Pukke who beat UJ earlier on Monday.

Maties started the match well and took a 19-0 lead into the first strategy break. Wingers, Edwill van der Merwe and Brandon Asher-Wood scored for the home side as they made earlier dominance into the Tuks pack.

Tuks centre, Dries Swanepoel scored a nine-point try after an error by the Maties, before Beyers de Villiers got one back for the men from Stellenbosch. 

Maties led 29-11 at the break.

The second half was much tighter as Maties continued to be more clinical. De Villiers went over after the back of a powerful maul again as Maties started to create distance between them and Tuks.

Scrumhalf, Remu Malan made sure of the result when he went over six minutes before fulltime. 

Flyhalf Ernst Stapelberg was on song with the boot as he steered Maties throughout the match as Maties clinched the match 49-11.

Player That Rocks: Remu Malan (FNB Maties) 


Maties: 49

Seven-point tries: Brandon Asher-Wood
Five-point tries: Edwill van der Merwe, Beyers de Villiers (2), Remu Malan
Cons: Ernst Stapelberg (5)
Pens: Ernst Stapelberg (4)

Tuks: 11 

Nine-point tries: Dries Swanepoel
Cons: Joshua Stander



15 Craig Barry, 14 Brandon Asher-Wood, 13 Paul Streicher, 12 Chris Smit, 11 Edwill van der Merwe, 10 Ernst Stapelberg, 9 Remu Malan, 8 Kobus van Dyk, 7 Janco Venter, 6 Beyers de Villiers ©, 5 Wilhelm van der Sluys, 4 Ian Groenewald, 3 JE van der Merwe, 2 Freddie Kirsten, 1 Niel Oelofse

Replacements: 16 Marko Janse van Rensburg, 17 Wesley Adonis, 18 Sidney Labuschagne, 19 Saud Abrahams 20 Bjorn Bernardo, 21 Chris Smith, 22 Carlisle Nel, 23 Frederik Kleinhans


15 Duncan Matthews, 14 Riaan Britz, 13 Dries Swanepoel, 12 Toko Maebane, 11 Duhan van der Merwe, 10 Joshua Stander, 9 Andre Warner, 8 Clyde Davids, 7 Ludolf Eksteen, 6 Ruan Steenkamp, 5 Colin Snyman, 4 Aston Fortuin, 3 Neethling Fouche, 2 Corniel Els, 1 Andrew Beerwinkel

Replacements: 16 Johannes Binneman, 17 Du Toit Genis, 18 Pieter Janse van Vuuren, 19 Luke van der Smit, 20 Carlo Engelbrecht, 21 Herbert de Beer, 22 Keenan van Wyk, 23 Justin Forwood

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7702 votes
11% - 1947 votes
19% - 3520 votes
3% - 460 votes
1% - 169 votes
2% - 437 votes
5% - 901 votes
8% - 1525 votes
3% - 605 votes
Water sports
1% - 166 votes
American sports
1% - 215 votes
3% - 565 votes