Magic mile spurs on Springboks

Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)
Heyneke Meyer (Gallo Images)

London - South Africa coach Heyneke Meyer has taken inspiration from the first sub four-minute mile as the Springboks bid to make Rugby World Cup history.

Every World Cup-winning team - including South Africa in 1995 and 2007 - have gone through the tournament unbeaten.

Springbok fans thought their team's chances nosedived after a stunning 34-32 defeat by Japan in their Pool B opener, a result regarded as the greatest upset in World Cup history.

Meyer, however, cited running a mile in under four minutes, once thought to be impossible until Britain's Roger Bannister clocked three minutes 59.4 seconds in 1954, as an example of a once staggering feat that was now commonplace.

South Africa responded to their shock reverse with a 46-6 win over Samoa and last weekend's 34-16 defeat of Scotland.

Now they top their group and are on course for a quarter-final with Australia or Wales.

But they still have one more pool match on Wednesday against the United States before the knockout stages.

"We don't look past this game," Meyer told reporters on Monday.

"That's been our problem, where we couldn't build game on game. One thing about South Africans, if we don't pitch up and are not physical, then we are beatable.

"But there are so many examples of comebacks that people said can't happen. They said the mile would never be run in under four minutes; now everybody does it.

"I believe everything is possible, and the guys know this is," added Meyer, criticised heavily after the Japan match.

"But we know we have to get through this game.

"People say things to be nice, but we really respect the USA. They've shown they're very difficult to play against, very physical, a lot of big, strong forwards and great runners in midfield."

Meyer repeated the team mantra that "every single game is actually a final."

Meyer has made just two, injury-enforced changes, to the team that beat Scotland.

Lwazi Mvovo replaces wing JP Pietersen, while prop Frans Malherbe comes in for Jannie du Plessis. Pietersen and du Plessis have knee injuries.

Morne Steyn - who has fallen behind Handre Pollard and Pat Lambie in South Africa's flyhalf pecking order - could be involved off the bench.

The 31-year-old played the last of his 59 Tests against Australia in September last year but Meyer said the renowned goal-kicker's attitude had been exemplary.

"Morne's probably what all South Africans and Springboks should be," he said. "He's here to serve and the thing that hasn't been nice for him is that youngsters have been playing ahead of him.

"He's done everything, been a World Cup winner (as a 2007 squad member), beat the British and Irish Lions on his own." Steyn's last-minute penalty gave the Springboks a series-clinching win in the second Test in 2009.

"I never had to keep him positive. He's been an example to everyone, helping other guys with their kicking."

The United States, beaten in their two previous Pool B matches, have made 12 changes to the side that lost 25-16 to Samoa last time out.

Eagles coach Mike Tolkin blamed a schedule that sees his side completing their pool programme with a potentially more 'winnable' match against Japan in Gloucester on Sunday.

"It comes to a point in this tournament with a four-day rest where you have to use the whole squad," he said.

"Every team that's been in this situation has had to do the same thing. We're confident in this full squad."

Wednesday will see US No 8 Samu Manoa captain the side for the first time, with squad skipper Chris Wyles on the bench.

"It's an honour," said Manoa, set to join European champions Toulon after becoming a popular figure at English Premiership side Northampton.

"It's really big for me and we've just got to give it everything we've got."


South Africa

15 Willie le Roux, 14 Bryan Habana, 13 Jesse Kriel, 12 Damian de Allende, 11 Lwazi Mvovo, 10 Handre Pollard, 9 Fourie du Preez (capt), 8 Duane Vermeulen, 7 Schalk Burger (vice-captain), 6 Francois Louw, 5 Lood de Jager, 4 Eben Etzebeth, 3 Frans Malherbe, 2 Bismarck du Plessis, 1 Tendai Mtawarira

Substitutes: 16 Schalk Brits, 17 Trevor Nyakane, 18 Coenie Oosthuizen, 19 Pieter-Steph du Toit, 20 Willem Alberts, 21 Rudy Paige, 22 Morne Steyn, 23 Jan Serfontein.


15 Blaine Scully, 14 Brett Thompson, 13 Folau Niua, 12 Andrew Suniula, 11 Zach Test, 10 Shalom Suniula, 9 Niku Kruger, 8 Samu Manoa (captain), 7 John Quill, 6 Danny Barrett, 5 Matthew Trouville, 4 Louis Stanfill, 3 Chris Baumann, 2 Phil Thiel, 1 Oli Kilifi

Substitutes: 16 Joe Taufetee, 17 Zach Fenoglio, 18 Mate Moeakiola, 19 Titi Lamositele, 20 Cam Dolan, 21 Al McFarland, 22 Mike Petri, 23 Chris Wyles

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 3541 votes
11% - 838 votes
18% - 1363 votes
2% - 145 votes
1% - 62 votes
2% - 159 votes
5% - 386 votes
7% - 566 votes
3% - 237 votes
Water sports
1% - 64 votes
American sports
1% - 59 votes
3% - 199 votes