Bafana Bafana

Hall of Fame honour for Bafana 1996 squad

Clive Barker and Neil Tovey (File)
Clive Barker and Neil Tovey (File)

Cape Town - The Bafana Bafana squad of 1996, coached by Clive Barker, is set to be inducted into the Samsung Hall of Fame.

Captain Neil Tovey lifted the CAF Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) trophy at the FNB Stadium alongside late President Nelson Mandela.

On February 3, 2017, the South Africa Football Association (SAFA) celebrated 21 years since the historic triumph. 

After a 3-0 drubbing of Ghana in the semi-final, courtesy of goals from legendary John "Shoes" Moshoeu (2) and Shaun Bartlett, Bafana faced Tunisia in the final.

A brace from Mark Williams in the 73th and 75th minutes was enough to secure Bafana Bafana's first - and only - major trophy to date.

According to the SAFA website, the induction will take place on Sunday, August 20 at the Sun City resort.

Previous teams and individuals inducted include the 1995 Rugby World Cup-winning Springbok team, Gary Player, Joost van der Westhuizen and President Mandela himself.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 8770 votes
11% - 2232 votes
19% - 4014 votes
2% - 513 votes
1% - 186 votes
2% - 483 votes
5% - 1024 votes
8% - 1767 votes
3% - 713 votes
Water sports
1% - 195 votes
American sports
1% - 257 votes
3% - 651 votes