Bafana Bafana

Khune, Zungu included in Bafana Bafana squad for crucial AFCON qualifiers

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Itumeleng Khune (Gallo Images)
Itumeleng Khune (Gallo Images)
  • Molefi Ntseki selects a 26-man Bafana Bafana squad for the upcoming AFCON qualifiers against Ghana and Sudan.
  • The Bafana Bafana head coach has made eleven changes from his squad announcement last October.
  • South Africa are scheduled to face Ghana and Sudan at the end of the month during the FIFA international break.

Bafana Bafana coach Molefi Ntseki has named a 26-man squad for the upcoming Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Ghana and Sudan.

The highly anticipated fixture against the Black Stars will take place on Thursday, 25 March at the FNB Stadium in Johannesburg.

Kick-off will be at 18:00.

Three days later, Ntseki's charges fly up north for a tricky away encounter against the Sudanese on Sunday, 28 March at the El Hilal Stadium.

It is Ntseki's first squad announcement since October last year, following AFCON qualifying matches against Sudan (South Africa won 1-0) and Sao Tome and Principe (Bafana Bafana won 4-2).

Itumeleng Khune and Bongani Zungu were the surprise selections after both players breached Covid-19 rules for their respective clubs.

Ntseki also called-up new faces into the squad in the form of Chippa United goalkeeper Veli Mothwa, Cape Town City paceman Craig Martin, Orlando Pirates star Ben Motshwari and SuperSport United midfielder Sipho Mbule.

Meanwhile, Swallows FC forward Ruzaigh Gamildien received his first national call-up in nearly eight years.

Ghana currently hold first place in Group C with South Africa in second, Sudan and Sao Tome and Principe in third and fourth, respectively.


Goalkeepers: Veli Mothwa (AmaZulu), Ronwen William (SuperSport United), Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs FC).

Defenders: Thibang Phete (Belenenses, Portugal), Siyanda Xulu (Hapoel Tel Aviv, Israel), Thulani Hlatshwayo (Orlando Pirates), Mosa Lebusa (Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates), Sifiso Hlanti (Swallows FC), Thapelo Morena (Mamelodi Sundowns), Craig Martin (Cape Town City).

Midfielders: Rivaldo Coetzee (Mamelodi Sundowns), Themba Zwane (Mamelodi Sundowns), Thulani Serero (Al Jazira, Abu Dhabi), Ben Motshwari (Orlando Pirates), Bongani Zungu (Rangers, Scotland), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Percy Tau (Brighton and Albion, England), Sipho Mbule (SuperSport United), Andile Jali (Mamelodi Sundowns), Luther Singh (Sporting Braga, Portugal), Dean Furman (Carlisle United, England).

Strikers: Kermit Erasmus (Mamelodi Sundowns), Bradley Grobler (SuperSport United), Ruzaigh Gamildien (Swallows FC), Lyle Foster (Vitoria Guimaraes, Portugal).

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Chelsea 0
Brighton and Hove Albion 0
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
40% - 13463 votes
12% - 4121 votes
19% - 6216 votes
3% - 855 votes
1% - 328 votes
2% - 777 votes
5% - 1679 votes
8% - 2813 votes
4% - 1172 votes
Water sports
1% - 304 votes
American sports
1% - 414 votes
3% - 1114 votes