Bafana Bafana

Ntseki in charge as SAFA search for 8th Bafana Bafana coach in 10 years

Danny Jordaan (Gallo Images)
Danny Jordaan (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - The South African Football Association (SAFA) is on the hunt for Bafana Bafana's 27th coach since readmission in 1992.

Stuart Baxter shocked the South African public by stepping down to end his second spell as head coach on Friday, August 2.

"Someone should continue with this project and therefore I am resigning as Bafana Bafana head coach. It was my personal decision to step down," Baxter told reporters at a press conference in Johannesburg. 

He was appointed on May 4, 2017, on a five-year contract following the ousting of then-coach Shakes Mashaba.

SAFA's intention of having a long-term coach to see out their famous '2022 Vision' has now fallen apart at the halfway mark.

Following Baxter's resignation, SAFA were quick to announce Molefi Ntseki as the national team's interim coach.

SAFA have appointed seven coaches in the last 10 years and a total of 26 since readmission in 1992.

Mashaba, Jomo Sono, Trott Moloto, Stuart Baxter, Carlos Alberto Parreira and Pitso Mosimane have all had more than one stint as head coach - either on a caretaker duty or being appointed on a permanent basis.


Jeff Butler (1992)

Stanley Tshabalala (1992)

Shakes Mashaba (1992)

Augusto Palacios (1992–94)

Clive Barker (1994–97)

Jomo Sono (1998) - Caretaker during 1998 AFCON

Philippe Troussier (1998)

Trott Moloto (1998–00)

Carlos Queiroz (2000–02)

Shakes Mashaba (2001) - Caretaker for one match

Trott Moloto (2002) - Caretaker for one match

Jomo Sono (2002) - Caretaker coach during 2002 Soccer World Cup

Shakes Mashaba (2002–04)

April Phumo (2004) - Caretaker for one match

Stuart Baxter (2004–05)

Ted Dumitru (2005–06)

Pitso Mosimane (2006) - Caretaker coach for seven matches

Carlos Alberto Parreira (2007–08)

Joel Santana (2008–09)

Carlos Alberto Parreira (2009–10)

Pitso Mosimane (2010–12)

Steve Komphela (2012) - Caretaker coach for two matches

Gordon Igesund (2012–14)

Shakes Mashaba (2014–16)

Stuart Baxter (2017–2019)

Molefi Ntseki (2019 - current) - Appointed as interim coach

Following Joel Santana's departure in 2009, SAFA reappointed Perreira ahead of the 2010 Soccer World Cup.

He lasted until after the tournament following Bafana Bafana's disappointing group stage knockout.

Mosimane was then brought in for two years until 2012 before Steve Komphela took over on a caretaker basis for two matches.

Gordon Igesund followed suit and is the only coach to see out his contract in 2014.

Mashaba was then given another shot before Baxter came in for his second tenure.

Who will SAFA president Danny Jordaan attempt to take on the Bafana Bafana job? And who is brave enough to take it?

For now, the search continues ...

Tashreeq Vardien works at Sport24 and is a paper basketball dustbin champion... Follow Tashreeq on Twitter.

Disclaimer: Sport24 encourages freedom of speech and the expression of diverse views. The views of columnists published on Sport24 are therefore their own and do not necessarily represent the views of Sport24.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
41% - 13509 votes
12% - 4132 votes
19% - 6230 votes
3% - 856 votes
1% - 328 votes
2% - 777 votes
5% - 1684 votes
8% - 2822 votes
4% - 1176 votes
Water sports
1% - 304 votes
American sports
1% - 417 votes
3% - 1117 votes