English Premiership

Costa charged by FA

Diego Costa (TEAMtalk)
Diego Costa (TEAMtalk)

London - The English Football Association has charged Chelsea striker Diego Costa with improper conduct after being sent off in Saturday's FA Cup loss at Everton.

Costa earned a second yellow card after thrusting his head at Gareth Barry before making a biting motion toward the midfielder's neck. Both players said there was no bite.

Costa also confronted the referee and the FA has given him until Thursday to respond to the charge that his behaviour after the sending off "amounted to improper conduct."

The FA has also given Costa until Wednesday to provide his observations about "an alleged gesture he made towards Everton supporters while leaving the pitch at half time."

Costa is facing having his automatic one-match ban increased.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
54% - 195 votes
Cricket
11% - 41 votes
Football
14% - 51 votes
Athletics
1% - 3 votes
Boxing
1% - 3 votes
Cycling
2% - 7 votes
Golf
6% - 21 votes
Motorsport
6% - 20 votes
Tennis
2% - 8 votes
Water sports
0% - 1 votes
American sports
1% - 5 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
2% - 6 votes
Vote