Ref: Kramer was disoriented

Christoph Kramer (AFP)
Christoph Kramer (AFP)

Rome - The Soccer World Cup final referee says Germany midfielder Christoph Kramer was disoriented and confused after taking a heavy blow to the head early in Sunday's match.

Nicola Rizzoli told the Gazzetta dello Sport, "Shortly after the blow, Kramer came to me asking 'Ref, is this the final?' I thought he was joking and made him repeat the question and then he said, 'I need to know if this is really the final.' When I said, 'Yes,' he concluded, 'Thanks, it was important to know that.'"

Rizzoli says he told Germany's Bastian Schweinsteiger about the exchange but Kramer continued playing for 14 minutes following a collision with Argentina's Ezequiel Garay.

He was eventually replaced in the 31st minute after slumping to the ground with a suspected concussion.

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For only R75 per month, you have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today.
Subscribe to News24
Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Results
Rugby
42% - 10096 votes
Cricket
11% - 2710 votes
Football
19% - 4568 votes
Athletics
2% - 600 votes
Boxing
1% - 229 votes
Cycling
2% - 555 votes
Golf
5% - 1190 votes
Motorsport
8% - 2007 votes
Tennis
3% - 815 votes
Water sports
1% - 215 votes
American sports
1% - 299 votes
MMA / WWE / UFC
3% - 780 votes
Vote