Toure the man to beat for CAF award

Yaya Toure (AFP)
Yaya Toure (AFP)

Cape Town - Ivory Coast and Manchester City midfielder Yaya Toure has once again been named on the shortlist for the CAF African Player of the Year award.

The African continent's football governing body released it's 37-man shortlist on Sunday where Ivory Coast have four players in line for the prestigious award.

Toure, who won the award last year to complete a record-breaking four wins in a row, joins national team-mates Gervinho, Max Gradel and Serge Aurier as nominees.

The Manchester City star will face competition for the award from the likes of Andre Ayew (Swansea City, Ghana), Sadio Mané (Southampton, Senegal), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon) and Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria).

The 37-man shortlist:

Ahmed Musa (CSKA Moscow, Nigeria), Andre Ayew (Swansea City, Ghana), Aymen Abdennour (Valencia,Tunisia), Baghdad Bonjah (Étoile du Sahel, Algeria), Bassem Morsi (Zamalek, Egypt), Chrisitian Atsu (Bournemouth, Ghana), Dieu Merci Mbokani (Norwich, D.R Congo), El Arbi Hillel Soudani (Dynamo Zagreb, Algeria), Faouzi Ghoulam (Napoli, Algeria), Férébory Doré (Angers, Congo), Gervais Yao Kouassi ( AS Roma, Cote d’Ivoire), Ibrahima Traoré (Borussia Mönchengladbach, Guinea), Javier Balboa (Al-Faisaly, Equatorial Guinea), Héldon Ramos (Rio Ave, Cape Verde), Mame Diouf (Stoke City, Senegal), Max Alain Gradel (Bournemouth, Cote d’Ivoire), Mehdi Benatia (Bayern Munich, Morocco), Modather Al Tayeb (Al Hilal, Sudan), Mohamed Salah (AS Roma, Egypt), Nicolas Nkoulou (Marseille, Cameroon), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (Borussia Dortmund, Gabon), Robert Kidiaba (T.P Mazembe, D.R Congo), Rudy Gestede (Aston Villa, Benin), Riyad Mahrez (Leicester City, Algeria), Sadio Mané (Southampton, Senegal), Serge Aurier  (Paris Saint Germain, Côte d’Ivoire), Seydou Keita (AS Roma, Mali), Sofiane Feghouli (Valencia, Algeria), Stéphane Mbia (Trabzonspor, Cameroon), Thievy Bifouma (Granada, Congo), Victor Wanyama (Southampton, Kenya), Vincent Aboubakar (FC Porto, Cameroon), Vincent Enyeama (Lille, Nigeria), Yacine Brahimi (FC Porto, Algeria), Yannick Bolasie (Crystal Palace, DR Congo), Yasine Chikhaoui (Al-Gharafa, Tunisia) and Yaya Toure (Man City, Cote d’Ivoire)

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
44% - 5739 votes
11% - 1424 votes
19% - 2423 votes
2% - 296 votes
1% - 116 votes
2% - 293 votes
5% - 635 votes
8% - 1026 votes
3% - 404 votes
Water sports
1% - 112 votes
American sports
1% - 126 votes
3% - 369 votes