Absa Premiership

Mass player exodus continues at relegated Ajax

Fagrie Lakay (Gallo Images)
Fagrie Lakay (Gallo Images)

Cape Town - Ajax Cape Town have confirmed the departure of Yannick Zakri, Siyanda Zwane, Rheece Evans, Fagrie Lakay and Tercious Malepe after their loan deals expired.

Zakri, Zwane and Evans were on loan from Mamelodi Sundowns while Lakay arrived from SuperSport United. Meanwhile, Malepe was loaned from Orlando Pirates for the recently ended Premiership campaign.

The Urban Warriors released a statement confirming the exit of the five players, saying: "Ajax Cape Town would like to wish Fagrie Lakay, Yannick Zakri, Siyanda Zwane, Tercious Malepe and Rheece Evans all the best in their future endeavours.

"The above mentioned players will see their respective loan deals at the club come to an end tomorrow, 30 June 2018."

Earlier this week the side confirmed that Travis Graham, Neo Makua and Tendai Ndoro had also left through the exit door, with their deals having come to an end at Ikamva.

The Mother City-based outfit appear to be in a period of restructuring should their relegation to the National First Division be confirmed through the courts. Recent reports also suggest chief scout Sergio dos Santos has left the club.