Absa Premiership

Pirates, Chiefs squads revealed for Cup tie

Carling Black Label Cup trophy
Carling Black Label Cup trophy

Cape Town - It’s all systems go for Saturday afternoon’s Carling Black Label Cup between Kaizer Chiefs and Orlando Pirates at the FNB Stadium, the excitement tangible after the match-day squads were announced on Wednesday night.

The match, which heralds the start of the new season, is unique in that the starting XI and substitutes are not chosen by the coaches, but rather by means of the fans’ votes.

The two teams as announced live on SABC1 by the two champion coaches, Philani Ndlovu and Sfiso Mahlangu, are as follows:

Kaizer Chiefs: Itumeleng Khune, Kgotso Moleko, Lorenzo Gordinho, Erick Mathoho, Tsepo Masilela, Hendrick Ekstein, Willard Katsande, George Maluleka, George Lebese, William Twala, Bernard Parker

Orlando Pirates: Brighton Mhlongo, Happy Jele, Ayanda Gcaba, Edwin Gyimah, Thabo Matlaba, Mpho Makola, Issa Sarr, Oupa Manyisa, Thabo Rakhale, Thamsanqa Gabuza, Tendai Ndoro

Historically, Pirates have dominated the competition, winning four of the five editions to date; the last and only time Amakhosi won the cup was in 2013.

The 2015 edition was won by the Buccaneers, who triumphed 4-3 on penalties after the game had ended 1-1, Reneilwe Letsholonyane having cancelled out Sifiso Myeni’s opening goal.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
46% - 4122 votes
11% - 1021 votes
18% - 1632 votes
2% - 184 votes
1% - 79 votes
2% - 186 votes
5% - 454 votes
8% - 700 votes
3% - 291 votes
Water sports
1% - 68 votes
American sports
1% - 69 votes
3% - 236 votes