Cape Town - Maritzburg United coach Eric Tinkler admits he does not understand what a fourth official in the Absa Premiership is allowed to do.
In the 1-0 win against AmaZulu on Friday the Team of Choice appeared to double their lead when Thabiso Kutumela found the back of the net just before the break, but the goal did not stand because the fourth official notified the referee that the player had fouled Phumlani Gumede in the build-up.
Tinkler was baffled by the call because he was under the impression that fourth officials cannot influence the game in that manner.
"Like I said, all-round the game was not pretty. I prefer not to comment any further because ultimately it always comes back to bite us as coaches," Tinkler said.
"But we scored the goal in the first half, the referee didn't blow. I saw him looking at the linesman and the linesman didn't have his flag raised, and I believe it was the fourth official who made the decision.
"I know for a fact because the fourth official told me during half-time that it was him that told the referee that it was a foul, and he said he also watched it on the screen, which was a foul."
He added: "The problem I have, in past football matches where the fourth official has seen that it has been a foul and penalty, but he tells me that he is not allowed to talk to the referee.
"So, this is a bit of grey area now because I'm asking a question, when are you allowed and when are you not allowed?
"I think we need to get clarification on that because today we had that situation and I know it's happened in three or four games in a row that I've asked the fourth official and he told me that they are not allowed to change referees' decision. So, it's strange."
- TeamTalk Media