Black Caps skipper rested for West Indies T20s

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Kane Williamson and Jos Buttler (Getty)
Kane Williamson and Jos Buttler (Getty)

New Zealand captain Kane Williamson and pace spearhead Trent Boult will miss the upcoming Twenty20 series against the West Indies to concentrate on Test matches, selectors said on Tuesday.

However, the Black Caps have added an exciting element to the 13-man T20 squad in the form of South African-born debutant Devon Conway, the stand-out domestic batsman in recent seasons.

Coach Gary Stead said Williamson and Boult were sitting out the three T20s - beginning in Auckland on 27 November - to keep them fresh for the two Tests against the West Indies in December.

"We've had to make a decision on Kane and Trent to prioritise the Test matches, given how important they are to our red-ball team and the fact they both played such big roles in the recent IPL while also managing injuries," he said.

Stead said the New Zealanders focused on the five-day format because they were a realistic prospect of making the World Test Championship final after posting an upset 2-0 series win over India earlier this year.

He was looking forward to seeing Conway on the international stage, predicting the 29-year-old would "soak up" the experience.

Conway moved to New Zealand in 2017 and has been carving up attacks ever since, winning back-to-back domestic player of the year awards in 2018 and 2019.

The left-hander, who became eligible to play for New Zealand in August, replaces fellow power hitter Colin Munro, who is playing in Australia's big Bash League.

Fast bowler Kyle Jamieson is the only other new cap in the T20 squad, while the Test side is the same one that faced India in February.

New Zealand Twenty20 squad

Tim Southee (capt), Hamish Bennett, Devon Conway, Lockie Ferguson, Martin Guptill, Kyle Jamieson, Daryl Mitchell, Jimmy Neesham, Glenn Phillips, Mitchell Santner, Ish Sodhi, Tim Seifert, Ross Taylor

*Doug Bracewell, Scott Kuggeleijn and Mark Chapman replace Jamieson, Southee and Taylor in game three

Tests: Kane Williamson (capt), Tom Blundell, Trent Boult, Colin de Grandhomme, Kyle Jamieson, Tom Latham, Henry Nicholls, Ajaz Patel, Tim Southee, Ross Taylor, Neil Wagner, BJ Watling, Will Young

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
loading... Live
Fijian Drua 0
Chiefs 0
Voting Booth
Would you be keen to see the Springboks join the Six Nations?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! The Northern Hemisphere is the future.
52% - 2544 votes
No! The Rugby Championship is still the pinnacle.
48% - 2308 votes