CSA announces 25th anniversary plans

Haroon Lorgat (Getty Images)
Haroon Lorgat (Getty Images)

Cape Town - Next year (2016) will mark Cricket South Africa’s (CSA) 25-year anniversary since re-admission into the international cricket arena.

CSA, under the name of the United Cricket Board of South Africa (UCBSA), officially came into being on June 29, 1991, at a meeting held at the Wanderers Club in Johannesburg.

The occasion was witnessed by two of the game’s all-time greats, Sir Garfield Sobers of the West Indies and Sunil Gavaskar of India.

CSA/UCBSA was officially admitted to the International Cricket Council (ICC) at a meeting at Lord’s on July 10, 1991.

The meeting that made all this possible took place under the chairmanship of Steve Tshwete at Port Elizabeth on December 16, 1990, that drew up a joint declaration of intent between the South African Cricket Union and the South African Cricket Board that covered all the necessary areas of agreement and consensus to make cricket unity possible.

In recognition of this historic milestone, CSA have planned numerous activities to celebrate this achievement culminating in a gala dinner on 25 July 2016.

“It is important that we should celebrate this milestone in an appropriate manner,” commented CSA President, Chris Nenzani. “In particular, I would like to pay tribute to all the people who brought about our unity in cricket in such a harmonious and constructive manner. These included the Founding President of our Democracy, Nelson Mandela, our first Sports Minister, Steve Tshwete, and our first two presidents, Geoff Dakin and Krish Mackerdhuj.”

A commemorative coffee table book titled “Defining Moments at the Crease” has hit the bookshelves this week.

The book, published by Jonathan Ball and Gallo Images, details all the key moments on and off the field during this wonderful period. It is available at all leading book stores.

CSA will also unveil a milestones program to honour player achievements and records dating back to re-admission.

“We can joyfully reflect on a wonderful first 25 years that is worthy of being celebrated,” commented CSA Chief Executive, Haroon Lorgat.

“I believe our performances on the field have lived up to the most optimistic of expectations and we can be very proud of owning some of the world’s greatest players. To name just a few - Jacques Kallis, Graeme Smith, Allan Donald, Makhaya Ntini, Dale Steyn, Hashim Amla and AB de Villiers – reminds us how much our players have been loved and revered over the years.

“And off the field we can be satisfied with the way we have managed the many tough challenges we face on a daily basis to be now regarded one of the best governed sports federations in the world.”

CSA also unveiled its special 25-year anniversary logo which will replace the current logo for 2016.

Voting Booth
What is your favourite sport to watch on TV?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
42% - 7750 votes
11% - 1962 votes
19% - 3542 votes
3% - 463 votes
1% - 169 votes
2% - 439 votes
5% - 908 votes
8% - 1533 votes
3% - 609 votes
Water sports
1% - 167 votes
American sports
1% - 217 votes
3% - 569 votes