Western Cape derby to kick off SA20, Wanderers to host final

play article
Subscribers can listen to this article
Graeme Smith
Graeme Smith
Grant Pitcher/Gallo Images
  • The SA20 fixtures for the inaugural season has been announced with the tournament set to get underway from 10 January to 11 February.
  • A Western Cape derby will kick-off the SA20 with MI Cape Town hosting Paarl Royals at Newlands.
  • All six teams will play five home and away fixtures before the SA20 final will be hosted at the Wanderers.

The fixtures for the inaugural season of the SA20 have been announced with the opener set to take place on 10 January 2023 at Newlands.

Cricket South Africa (CSA) released the full schedule of 33 matches on Tuesday, with all six Indian Premier League (IPL) owned franchises to host games across six venues. 

The SA20 will get underway on Tuesday, 10 January at Newlands Cricket Ground for a Western Cape derby, which sees MI Cape Town hosting Paarl Royals.

All six SA20 teams will have five home and away matches to "maximise fan engagement and brand identity growth". 

"Releasing fixtures for the opening season is a milestone for us all at SA20," league commissioner, Graeme Smith said in a statement.

"It's all getting very real, we certainly can't wait to watch the world's best go head-to-head. Fans can look forward to the blockbuster schedule kicking off with the popular local derby between MI Cape Town and Paarl Royals on 10 January.  

"Fans will be able to watch the best local and international T20 stars live in action at prime viewing times for the afternoon and evening matches. This is also an ideal broadcasting slot ensuring viewers around the world can also keep up with the enthralling entertainment."


The opening game, along with the remaining 32 matches, will all be broadcast exclusively live on SuperSport in Sub-Saharan Africa and Viacom18 Sports in India.

The SA20 final will be staged at the Wanderers on Saturday, 11 February, where the first-ever SA20 champions will be crowned.

"The Wanderers has hosted many memorable finals throughout the years, we expect a full house in attendance to watch the first-ever SA20 Champions lifting the trophy," said Smith.

"We are thankful to have the buy-in from all six franchises to make this season a success and we look forward to making this inaugural season of the SA20 something special for the fans!"

The SA20 action sees at least one game every single day until Thursday, 24 January.

South Africa will host the ICC Women's T20 World Cup, which is set to be held in the Western Cape and Eastern Cape from 10-26 February 2023.

This affected how late the SA20 league will end, and with St George's Park (Sunrisers Eastern Cape, Newlands (MI Cape Town) and Boland Park (Paarl Royals) the venues for this ICC event and are SA20 teams' home bases, it meant that their home games needed to be completed by 24 January due to ICC needing to prepare venues.

The SA20 fixtures will start at 13:30 for afternoon matches and 17:30 for evening matches. The fixtures were designed to maximise weekend prime slots with use of double-headers and to minimise weekday matches particularly avoiding double-headers where possible.

A week break will be taken towards the end of January for the rescheduled three-match ODI series between the Proteas and England.

The SA20 action will then resume at Kingsmead for the clash between hosts Durban's Super Giants and MI Cape Town on Thursday, 2 February.

SA20 squads:


Moeen Ali, Maheesh Theekshana, Romario Shepherd, Gerald Coetzee, Harry Brook, Janneman Malan, Reeza Hendricks, Kyle Verreynne, George Garton, Alzarri Joseph, Leus du Plooy, Lewis Gregory, Lizaad Williams, Nandre Burger, Donavon Ferreira, Malusi Siboto, Caleb Seleka


Anrich Nortje, Miguel Pretorius, Rilee Rossouw, Phil Salt, Wayne Parnell, Josh Little, Shaun von Berg, Cameron Delport, Will Jacks, Theunis de Bruyn, Marco Marais, Will Jacks, Jimmy Neesham, Kusal Mendis, Daryn Dupavillon, Shane Dadswell, Eathan Bosch


Quinton de Kock, Jason Holder, Kyle Mayers, Reece Topley, Prenelan Subrayen, Dwaine Pretorius, Heinrich Klaasen, Keemo Paul, Keshav Maharaj, Kyle Abbott, Junior Dala, Dilshan Madushanka, Johnson Charles, Matthew Breetzke, Christiaan Jonker, Simon Harmer, Wiaan Mulder


Aiden Markram, Ottniel Baartman, Marco Jansen, Tristan Stubbs, Sisanda Magala, Junaid Dawood, Mason Crane, Jon-Jon Smuts, Jordan Cox, Adam Rossington, Roelof van der Merwe, Marques Ackerman, James Fuller, Aya Gqamane, Tom Abell, Sarel Erwee, Brydon Carse


David Miller, Jos Buttler, Obed McCoy, Corbin Bosch, Lungi Ngidi, Tabraiz Shamsi, Jason Roy, Dane Vilas, Bjorn Fortuin, Mitchell van Buuren, Wihan Lubbe, Ferisco Adams, Imraan Manack, Evan Jones, Ramon Simmonds, Eoin Morgan, Codi Yusuf


Kagiso Rabada, Dewald Brevis, Rashid Khan, Sam Curran, Liam Livingstone, Rassie van der Dussen, Ryan Rickelton, George Linde, Beuran Hendricks, Duan Jansen, Delano Potgieter, Waqar Salamkheil, Ziyaad Abrahams, Wesley Marshall, Olly Stone, Grant Roelofsen

We live in a world where facts and fiction get blurred
In times of uncertainty you need journalism you can trust. For 14 free days, you can have access to a world of in-depth analyses, investigative journalism, top opinions and a range of features. Journalism strengthens democracy. Invest in the future today. Thereafter you will be billed R75 per month. You can cancel anytime and if you cancel within 14 days you won't be billed. 
Subscribe to News24
Show Comments ()
loading... Live
Pumas 7
Griquas 6
Voting Booth
Is the decision to give Aiden Markram the Proteas T20 captaincy the right one?
Please select an option Oops! Something went wrong, please try again later.
Yes! Markram is a natural leader
72% - 163 votes
No! He should have been left to focus on his batting
8% - 19 votes
I'm not sure yet. Let's see what results he brings.
19% - 44 votes
Editorial feedback and complaints

Contact the public editor with feedback for our journalists, complaints, queries or suggestions about articles on News24.